Firm profile

Tortoise Capital Advisors, L.L.C.

OVERLAND PARK, KSCRD 123711Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since November 22, 2002SEC # 801-61622Latest ADV April 30, 2026

Tortoise Capital Advisors, L.L.C. is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a limited liability company with a primary office location in Overland Park, KS. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated April 30, 2026, reports $8.9B in regulatory assets under management, 34 employees, 1 office, and 344 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$8.9B
Employees
34
Offices
1 office
Total Clients
344

Associated firm names

2 names listed
  • TCA ADVISORS
  • TORTOISE CAPITAL ADVISORS, L.L.C.

Leadership

4 roles identified
CEOThomas I. Florence
CCOJeffrey S. Kruske
CFOJoseph P. Paonessa

Advisory services offered

4 types reported
Portfolio management for businesses
Portfolio management for individuals and small businesses
Portfolio management for investment companies

Fee models offered

2 types reported
Asset based fees
Performance-based fees

Offices & Contact

Primary office

OVERLAND PARK, Kansas, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Kansas

OVERLAND PARKPrimary office

1 office records listed · 1 total offices reported. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$8.9Bas of April 30, 2026
Discretionary100.0%
$8.9B
100% of total RAUM100.0%
Non-discretionary0.0%
$0
0% of total RAUM0.0%
All regulatory assets under management are discretionary.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentHNWI represent 75.3% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
HNWI
75.3%
259
2
Corporations
11.0%
38
3
Government
4.1%
14
4
Charitable
2.9%
10
5
Investment Cos.
2.6%
9

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$8.9B
Total Accounts344
10Y AUM Change$-7.6B (-45.9%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by Tortoise Capital Advisors, L.L.C.

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees34
Clients per Employee10:1
10Y Employee Change-45 (-57.0%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
TORTOISE BORROWER LLCDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in TORTOISE CAPITAL ADVISORS, L.L.C.
75%+
TORTOISE PARENT HOLDCO LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in TORTOISE BORROWER LLC
75%+
LOVELL MINNICK EQUITY PARTNERS IV-A LPIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in LM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV-A INC.
75%+
LOVELL MINNICK PARTNERS LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in FUND IV UGP LLC
75%+
LM TORTOISE HOLDINGS LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in TORTOISE PARENT HOLDCO LLC
50% to < 75%
LM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV CO-INVESTMENT LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in LM TORTOISE HOLDINGS LLC
50% to < 75%
LM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in LM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV CO-INVESTMENT LLC
50% to < 75%
LOVELL MINNICK EQUITY PARTNERS IV LPIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in LM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV LLC
50% to < 75%
LM TORTOISE HOLDINGS CO- INVESTMENT LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in LM TORTOISE HOLDINGS LLC
25% to < 50%
HCF4 HOLDINGS LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in LM TORTOISE HOLDINGS CO- INVESTMENT LLC
25% to < 50%
LM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV-A INC.Indirect owner · Schedule BInterest in LM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV LLC
25% to < 50%

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Tortoise Capital Advisors, L.L.C..

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-04-30 · Schedules A and B

19 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1TORTOISE BORROWER LLCMANAGING MEMBERDomestic entityTORTOISE CAPITAL ADVISORS, L.L.C.75% or moreCode EYesMANAGING MEMBER01/2018Schedule APDF page 27
2THOMAS IBBERSON FLORENCECHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERIndividualTORTOISE CAPITAL ADVISORS, L.L.C.Less than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER04/2024Schedule APDF page 27
3JEFFREY SCOTT KRUSKECHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER, CHIEF LEGAL OFFICER, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICERIndividualTORTOISE CAPITAL ADVISORS, L.L.C.Less than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER, CHIEF LEGAL OFFICER, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER03/2025Schedule APDF page 27
4JOSEPH PAUL PAONESSACHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERIndividualTORTOISE CAPITAL ADVISORS, L.L.C.Less than 5%Code NANoCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER04/2025Schedule APDF page 27
5TORTOISE PARENT HOLDCO LLCSOLE MEMBERDomestic entityTORTOISE BORROWER LLC75% or moreCode EYesSOLE MEMBER01/2018Schedule BPDF page 28
6LM TORTOISE HOLDINGS LLCMEMBERDomestic entityTORTOISE PARENT HOLDCO LLC50% to less than 75%Code DYesMEMBER04/2024Schedule BPDF page 28
7LM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV CO-INVESTMENT LLCMEMBERDomestic entityLM TORTOISE HOLDINGS LLC50% to less than 75%Code DYesMEMBER01/2018Schedule BPDF page 28
8LM TORTOISE HOLDINGS CO- INVESTMENT LLCMEMBERDomestic entityLM TORTOISE HOLDINGS LLC25% to less than 50%Code CYesMEMBER01/2018Schedule BPDF page 28
9HCF4 HOLDINGS LLCMEMBERDomestic entityLM TORTOISE HOLDINGS CO- INVESTMENT LLC25% to less than 50%Code CYesMEMBER01/2018Schedule BPDF page 28
10LM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV LLCMANAGING MEMBERDomestic entityLM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV CO-INVESTMENT LLC50% to less than 75%Code DYesMANAGING MEMBER01/2018Schedule BPDF page 28
11LOVELL MINNICK EQUITY PARTNERS IV LPMEMBERDomestic entityLM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV LLC50% to less than 75%Code DYesMEMBER01/2018Schedule BPDF page 28
12LM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV-A INC.MEMBERDomestic entityLM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV LLC25% to less than 50%Code CYesMEMBER01/2018Schedule BPDF page 28
13LOVELL MINNICK EQUITY PARTNERS IV-A LPOWNERDomestic entityLM TORTOISE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS IV-A INC.75% or moreCode EYesOWNER01/2018Schedule BPDF page 28
14LOVELL MINNICK EQUITY ADVISORS IV LPGENERAL PARTNERDomestic entityLOVELL MINNICK EQUITY PARTNERS IV LPPercentage not specifiedCode FYesGENERAL PARTNER01/2014Schedule BPDF page 28
15LOVELL MINNICK EQUITY ADVISORS IV LPGENERAL PARTNERDomestic entityLOVELL MINNICK EQUITY PARTNERS IV-A LPPercentage not specifiedCode FYesGENERAL PARTNER01/2014Schedule BPDF page 28
16FUND IV UGP LLCGENERAL PARTNERDomestic entityLOVELL MINNICK EQUITY ADVISORS IV LPPercentage not specifiedCode FYesGENERAL PARTNER01/2014Schedule BPDF page 28
17LOVELL MINNICK PARTNERS LLCMANAGING MEMBERDomestic entityFUND IV UGP LLC75% or moreCode EYesMANAGING MEMBER01/2014Schedule BPDF page 28
18THOMAS IBBERSON FLORENCECHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERIndividualTORTOISE BORROWER LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER04/2024Schedule BPDF page 28
19JEFFREY SCOTT KRUSKECHIEF LEGAL OFFICER, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICERIndividualTORTOISE BORROWER LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesCHIEF LEGAL OFFICER, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER03/2025Schedule BPDF page 28

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 4/30/2026 4:45:51 PM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.