Firm profile

Calamos Advisors LLC

NAPERVILLE, ILCRD 105758Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since May 29, 1987SEC # 801-29688Latest ADV July 23, 2026

Calamos Advisors LLC is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a limited liability company with a primary office location in Naperville, IL. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated July 23, 2026, reports $43.9B in regulatory assets under management, 300 employees, 7 offices, and 1,957 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$43.9B
Employees
300
Offices
7 offices
Total Clients
1,957

Associated firm names

3 names listed
  • CALAMOS ADVISORS LLC
  • CALAMOS ASSET MANAGEMENT INC
  • CALAMOS ARISTA PARTNERS

Leadership

4 roles identified
CEOJohn S. Koudounis
CCOWalter M. Kelly
CFOThomas E. Herman

Advisory services offered

4 types reported
Portfolio management for businesses
Portfolio management for individuals and small businesses
Portfolio management for investment companies

Fee models offered

1 types reported
Asset based fees

Offices & Contact

Primary office

NAPERVILLE, Illinois, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Illinois

NAPERVILLEPrimary office · CHICAGO

California

SAN FRANCISCO

New York

NEW YORK

Oregon

PORTLAND

Wisconsin

MILWAUKEE

6 office records listed · 7 total offices reported. 1 additional office addresses are undisclosed and are not mapped. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$43.9Bas of July 23, 2026
Discretionary100.0%
$43.9B
100% of total RAUM100.0%
Non-discretionary0.0%
$0
0% of total RAUM0.0%
All regulatory assets under management are discretionary.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentHNWI represent 70.1% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
HNWI
70.1%
1,372
2
Individuals
18.6%
364
3
Investment Cos.
3.8%
74
4
Corporations
3.6%
70
5
Pension Plans
2.1%
41

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$43.9B
Total Accounts1,957
10Y AUM Change+$25.6B (+140.1%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by Calamos Advisors LLC

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees300
Clients per Employee7:1
10Y Employee Change+73 (+32.2%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
CALAMOS INVESTMENTS LLCDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in CALAMOS ADVISORS LLC
75%+
JOHN PETER CALAMOS SR.Indirect owner · Schedule BInterest in JOHN P. CALAMOS, TRUSTEE, UNDER THE JOHN P. CALAMOS 1985 TRUST
75%+
JOHN P. CALAMOS, TRUSTEE, UNDER THE JOHN P. CALAMOS 1985 TRUSTIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in CALAMOS FAMILY PARTNERS, INC.
75%+
CALAMOS PARTNERS LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in CALAMOS INVESTMENTS LLC
75%+
JOHN PETER CALAMOS SR.Indirect owner · Schedule BInterest in JOHN P. CALAMOS QTIP TRUST
75%+
JOHN P. CALAMOS QTIP TRUSTIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in CALAMOS PARTNERS LLC
75%+
JOHN SPIRO KOUDOUNISIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in CALAMOS EQUITY PARTNERS LLC
75%+
JOHN P. CALAMOS QTIP TRUSTIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in CALAMOS ASSET MANAGEMENT, INC.
50% to < 75%
JOHN SPIRO KOUDOUNISIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in CALAMOS ASSET MANAGEMENT, INC.
25% to < 50%

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Calamos Advisors LLC.

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-07-23 · Schedules A and B

23 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1JOHN PETER CALAMOS SR.FOUNDER, CHAIRMAN AND GLOBAL CIOIndividualCALAMOS ADVISORS LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesFOUNDER, CHAIRMAN AND GLOBAL CIO10/2004Schedule APDF page 55
2CALAMOS INVESTMENTS LLCSOLE MEMBER/MANAGERDomestic entityCALAMOS ADVISORS LLC75% or moreCode EYesSOLE MEMBER/MANAGER10/2004Schedule APDF page 55
3JOHN SPIRO KOUDOUNISPRESIDENT AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERIndividualCALAMOS ADVISORS LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesPRESIDENT AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER03/2016Schedule APDF page 55
4Thomas Edward HermanEVP, CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERIndividualCALAMOS ADVISORS LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesEVP, CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER06/2016Schedule APDF page 55
5Daniel Leo DufresneEVP, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICERIndividualCALAMOS ADVISORS LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesEVP, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER04/2021Schedule APDF page 56
6Erik Donald OjalaSVP GENERAL COUNSEL & SECRETARYIndividualCALAMOS ADVISORS LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesSVP GENERAL COUNSEL & SECRETARY07/2023Schedule APDF page 56
7Thomas Patrick KileySVP, CHIEF DISTRIBUTION OFFICERIndividualCALAMOS ADVISORS LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesSVP, CHIEF DISTRIBUTION OFFICER11/2024Schedule APDF page 56
8Walter Morrissey KellySVP, CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICERIndividualCALAMOS ADVISORS LLCLess than 5%Code NANoSVP, CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER04/2026Schedule APDF page 56
9JOHN PETER CALAMOS SR.TRUSTEE AND SHAREHOLDERIndividualJOHN P. CALAMOS, TRUSTEE, UNDER THE JOHN P. CALAMOS 1985 TRUST75% or moreCode EYesTRUSTEE AND SHAREHOLDER08/1985Schedule BPDF page 56
10JOHN P. CALAMOS, TRUSTEE, UNDER THE JOHN P. CALAMOS 1985 TRUSTSHAREHOLDERDomestic entityCALAMOS FAMILY PARTNERS, INC.75% or moreCode EYesSHAREHOLDER10/2004Schedule BPDF page 56
11CALAMOS PARTNERS LLCSOLE MANAGER/MEMBERDomestic entityCALAMOS INVESTMENTS LLC75% or moreCode EYesSOLE MANAGER/MEMBER07/2016Schedule BPDF page 56
12CALAMOS ASSET MANAGEMENT, INC.MEMBERDomestic entityCALAMOS INVESTMENTS LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesMEMBER10/2004Schedule BPDF page 56
13CALAMOS FAMILY PARTNERS, INC.MEMBERDomestic entityCALAMOS PARTNERS LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesMEMBER09/2014Schedule BPDF page 56
14JOHN PETER CALAMOS SR.MANAGERIndividualCALAMOS PARTNERS LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesMANAGER07/2016Schedule BPDF page 56
15JOHN SPIRO KOUDOUNISMANAGER AND SHAREHOLDERIndividualCALAMOS PARTNERS LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesMANAGER AND SHAREHOLDER07/2016Schedule BPDF page 56
16WILLIAM J TAKAHASHIMANAGERIndividualCALAMOS PARTNERS LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesMANAGER07/2016Schedule BPDF page 56
17JOHN SPIRO KOUDOUNISSHAREHOLDERIndividualCALAMOS ASSET MANAGEMENT, INC.25% to less than 50%Code CYesSHAREHOLDER12/2020Schedule BPDF page 56
18JOHN P. CALAMOS QTIP TRUSTSHAREHOLDERDomestic entityCALAMOS ASSET MANAGEMENT, INC.50% to less than 75%Code DYesSHAREHOLDER06/2026Schedule BPDF page 56
19JOHN PETER CALAMOS SR.TRUSTEE AND SHAREHOLDERIndividualJOHN P. CALAMOS QTIP TRUST75% or moreCode EYesTRUSTEE AND SHAREHOLDER06/2026Schedule BPDF page 56
20JOHN P. CALAMOS QTIP TRUSTSHAREHOLDERDomestic entityCALAMOS PARTNERS LLC75% or moreCode EYesSHAREHOLDER06/2026Schedule BPDF page 56
21CALAMOS EQUITY PARTNERS LLCMEMBERDomestic entityCALAMOS INVESTMENTS LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesMEMBER06/2026Schedule BPDF page 56
22JOHN SPIRO KOUDOUNISMEMBERIndividualCALAMOS EQUITY PARTNERS LLC75% or moreCode EYesMEMBER06/2026Schedule BPDF page 57
23Daniel Leo DufresneMEMBERIndividualCALAMOS EQUITY PARTNERS LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesMEMBER06/2026Schedule BPDF page 57

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 7/23/2026 6:16:46 PM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.