Firm profile

Berenberg Asset Management LLC

NEW YORK, NYCRD 171274Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since July 15, 2014SEC # 801-79887Latest ADV July 17, 2026

Berenberg Asset Management LLC is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a limited liability company with a primary office location in New York, NY. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated July 17, 2026, reports $35M in regulatory assets under management, 30 employees, 4 offices, and 1 account.

Assets Under Management
$35M
Employees
30
Offices
4 offices
Total Clients
<5

Associated firm names

1 name listed
  • BERENBERG ASSET MANAGEMENT LLC

Leadership

2 roles identified
CEOZachary D. Brantly
CCOJens Willershausen

Advisory services offered

2 types reported
Pension consulting services
Portfolio management for businesses

Fee models offered

1 types reported
Asset based fees

Offices & Contact

Primary office

NEW YORK, New York, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

New York

NEW YORKPrimary office

Germany

HAMBURG · FRANKFURT

Switzerland

ZURICH

4 office records listed · 4 total offices reported. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links
Phone646-949-9000
WebsiteNot found
LinkedInNot found

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$35Mas of July 17, 2026
Discretionary100.0%
$35M
100% of total RAUM100.0%
Non-discretionary0.0%
$0
0% of total RAUM0.0%
All regulatory assets under management are discretionary.

Client Coverage Demographics

Categories with <5 clients
Corporations or other businesses not listed above<5 clients

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$35M
Total Accounts1
10Y AUM Change$-109M (-75.8%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by Berenberg Asset Management LLC

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees30
Clients per Employee—
10Y Employee Change-20 (-40.0%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
BERENBERG BETEILIGUNGSHOLDING GMBHDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in BERENBERG ASSET MANAGEMENT LLC
75%+
JOH. BERENBERG, GOSSLER & CO. KGIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in BERENBERG BETEILIGUNGSHOLDING GMBH
75%+

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Berenberg Asset Management LLC.

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-07-17 · Schedules A and B

9 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1LARS SCHWARTAUDIRECTORIndividualBERENBERG ASSET MANAGEMENT LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesDIRECTOR10/2019Schedule APDF page 24
2BERENBERG BETEILIGUNGSHOLDING GMBHMEMBERForeign entityBERENBERG ASSET MANAGEMENT LLC75% or moreCode EYesMEMBER12/2010Schedule APDF page 24
3ZACHARY DALTON BRANTLYDIRECTOR/CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERIndividualBERENBERG ASSET MANAGEMENT LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesDIRECTOR/CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER12/2020Schedule APDF page 24
4Jens WillershausenCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICERIndividualBERENBERG ASSET MANAGEMENT LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER09/2022Schedule APDF page 24
5JOH. BERENBERG, GOSSLER & CO. KGSHAREHOLDERForeign entityBERENBERG BETEILIGUNGSHOLDING GMBH75% or moreCode EYesSHAREHOLDER12/2010Schedule BPDF page 24
6HENDRIK RIEHMERMANAGING PARTNERIndividualJOH. BERENBERG, GOSSLER & CO. KGPercentage not specifiedCode FNoMANAGING PARTNER01/2009Schedule BPDF page 24
7AARON CHRISTIAN KUHNMANAGING PARTNERIndividualJOH. BERENBERG, GOSSLER & CO. KGPercentage not specifiedCode FNoMANAGING PARTNER12/2020Schedule BPDF page 24
8DAVID ANTHONY FRANCIS MORTLOCKMANAGING PARTNERIndividualJOH. BERENBERG, GOSSLER & CO. KGPercentage not specifiedCode FNoMANAGING PARTNER12/2020Schedule BPDF page 24
9HANS-WALTER PETERSTEMPORARY COMMISSIONERIndividualJOH. BERENBERG, GOSSLER & CO. KGPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTEMPORARY COMMISSIONER06/2026Schedule BPDF page 24

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 7/17/2026 1:42:01 PM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions1 Yes4 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?Yes
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No
Additional DRP filings 1 source block

Verbatim excerpts from supporting DRP filings, which may concern the firm or advisory affiliates. Amounts retain their filed labels; no total or attribution is inferred.

regulatory · block 1JOH, BERENBERG, GOSSLER & CO. KGPDF pages 25–27
Advisory affiliate name — filed text
JOH, BERENBERG, GOSSLER & CO. KG
Regulator name — filed text
BUNDESANSTALT FÜR FINANZDIENSTLEISTUNGSAUFSICHT ­ "BAFIN"

Action status / disposition — filed text

ON JUNE 19, 2026, THE GERMAN REGULATOR, BAFIN SUSPENDED THE MANAGEMENT BOARD OF JOH. BERENBERG, GOSSLER & CO. KG ("BEGO"), BAM'S ULTIMATE PARENT COMPANY, REGARDING POTENTIAL CORPORATE GOVERNANCE ISSUES IDENTIFIED IN A 2025 AUDIT. BAFIN APPOINTED DR. HANS- WALTER PETERS AND MR. MICHAEL HORF AS SPECIAL REPRESENTATIVES TO PROVIDE INTERIM MANAGEMENT.
Other filed details

Description of allegations — filed text

ON JUNE 19, 2026, THE GERMAN FEDERAL FINANCIAL SUPERVISORY AUTHORITY (BUNDESANSTALT FÜR FINANZDIENSTLEISTUNGSAUFSICHT ­ "BAFIN") ISSUED AN ORDER SUSPENDING THE POWERS OF THE THREE MEMBERS OF THE MANAGEMENT BOARD OF JOH. BERENBERG, GOSSLER & CO. KG ("BERENBERG"), THE ULTIMATE PRINCIPAL OWNER OF BAM. TO ENSURE SEAMLESS OPERATIONS AND REGULATORY COMPLIANCE, BAFIN APPOINTED DR. HANS-WALTER PETERS AS SPECIAL REPRESENTATIVE (SONDERBEAUFTRAGTER) FOR MARKET AND CLIENT AFFAIRS AND MR. MICHAEL HORF AS SPECIAL REPRESENTATIVE FOR BACK OFFICE, WHO ARE JOINTLY EXERCISING INTERIM MANAGEMENT OF THE BANK. NO OTHER PERSONNEL OR OPERATIONAL CHANGES HAVE BEEN ORDERED BY BAFIN AND NEITHER THE APPLICANT NOR ANY MEMBER OF ITS MANAGEMENT WAS THE SUBJECT OF THE BAFIN ORDER. THE SUSPENSION RELATES TO INDICATIONS OF POTENTIAL CORPORATE GOVERNANCE BREACHES AT THE MANAGEMENT BOARD LEVEL, WHICH WERE IDENTIFIED DURING THE AUDIT OF THE 2025 ANNUAL FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. UPON THE INITIATIVE OF THE BANK'S AUDIT COMMITTEE-AND NOT BY ORDER OF BAFIN-BERENBERG PROACTIVELY COMMISSIONED AN INDEPENDENT INTERNAL FORENSIC INVESTIGATION INTO THESE MATTERS. BERENBERG IS COOPERATING FULLY WITH BAFIN TO REVIEW THE FINDINGS AND EVALUATE POTENTIAL ENHANCEMENTS TO ITS OPERATIONAL PROCESSES, INTERNAL CONTROL SYSTEMS, AND COMPLIANCE FRAMEWORKS.
Full extracted filing text

Includes form instructions and options. Options shown in this text do not identify which boxes were selected.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
This Disclosure Reporting Page (DRP ADV) is an 
INITIAL OR
AMENDED response used to report details for affirmative responses to Items 11.C., 11.D.,
11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. of Form ADV.
Regulatory Action
Check item(s) being responded to:
11.C(1)
11.C(2)
11.C(3)
11.C(4)
11.C(5)
11.D(1)
11.D(2)
11.D(3)
11.D(4)
11.D(5)
11.E(1)
11.E(2)
11.E(3)
11.E(4)
11.F.
11.G.
Use a separate DRP for each event or proceeding . The same event or proceeding may be reported for more than one person or entity using one DRP. File
with a completed Execution Page. 
One event may result in more than one affirmative answer to Items 11.C., 11.D., 11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. Use only one DRP to report details related to the
same event. If an event gives rise to actions by more than one regulator, provide details for each action on a separate DRP.
PART I
A.  The person(s) or entity(ies) for whom this DRP is being filed is (are):
You (the advisory firm)
You and one or more of your advisory affiliates
One or more of your advisory affiliates
If this DRP is being filed for an advisory affiliate, give the full name of the advisory affiliate below (for individuals, Last name, First name, Middle name). 
If the advisory affiliate has a CRD number, provide that number. If not, indicate "non-registered" by checking the appropriate box.
ADV DRP - ADVISORY AFFILIATE
CRD
Number:
This advisory affiliate is 
a Firm
an Individual
Registered:
Yes
No
Name:
JOH, BERENBERG, GOSSLER &
CO. KG
(For individuals, Last, First,
Middle)
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because the advisory affiliate(s) is no longer associated with the adviser.
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because: (1) the event or proceeding occurred more than ten years ago or (2) the adviser is
registered or applying for registration with the SEC or reporting as an exempt reporting adviser with the SEC and the event was resolved in the
adviser's or advisory affiliate's favor.
If you are registered or registering with a state securities authority , you may remove a DRP for an event you reported only in response to Item
11.D(4), and only if that event occurred more than ten years ago. If you are registered or registering with the SEC, you may remove a DRP for any
event listed in Item 11 that occurred more than ten years ago.

This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because it was filed in error, such as due to a clerical or data-entry mistake. Explain the
circumstances: 
B.
If the advisory affiliate is registered through the IARD system or CRD system, has the advisory affiliate submitted a DRP (with Form ADV, BD or U-4) to
the IARD or CRD for the event? If the answer is "Yes," no other information on this DRP must be provided.
 Yes
 No
NOTE: The completion of this form does not relieve the advisory affiliate of its obligation to update its IARD or CRD records.
PART II
1.  Regulatory Action initiated by:
SEC   
Other Federal   
State   
SRO
Foreign
(Full name of regulator, foreign financial regulatory authority, federal, state, or SRO) 
BUNDESANSTALT FÜR FINANZDIENSTLEISTUNGSAUFSICHT ­ "BAFIN"
2.
Principal Sanction:
Suspension
Other Sanctions: 
3.
Date Initiated (MM/DD/YYYY): 
06/19/2026
 Exact
 Explanation
If not exact, provide explanation:
4.
Docket/Case Number:
5.
Advisory Affiliate Employing Firm when activity occurred which led to the regulatory action (if applicable):
6.
Principal Product Type:
No Product
Other Product Types: 
7.
Describe the allegations related to this regulatory action (your response must fit within the space provided):
ON JUNE 19, 2026, THE GERMAN FEDERAL FINANCIAL SUPERVISORY AUTHORITY (BUNDESANSTALT FÜR FINANZDIENSTLEISTUNGSAUFSICHT ­ "BAFIN")
ISSUED AN ORDER SUSPENDING THE POWERS OF THE THREE MEMBERS OF THE MANAGEMENT BOARD OF JOH. BERENBERG, GOSSLER & CO. KG
("BERENBERG"), THE ULTIMATE PRINCIPAL OWNER OF BAM. TO ENSURE SEAMLESS OPERATIONS AND REGULATORY COMPLIANCE, BAFIN APPOINTED
DR. HANS-WALTER PETERS AS SPECIAL REPRESENTATIVE (SONDERBEAUFTRAGTER) FOR MARKET AND CLIENT AFFAIRS AND MR. MICHAEL HORF AS
SPECIAL REPRESENTATIVE FOR BACK OFFICE, WHO ARE JOINTLY EXERCISING INTERIM MANAGEMENT OF THE BANK. NO OTHER PERSONNEL OR
OPERATIONAL CHANGES HAVE BEEN ORDERED BY BAFIN AND NEITHER THE APPLICANT NOR ANY MEMBER OF ITS MANAGEMENT WAS THE SUBJECT OF
THE BAFIN ORDER. THE SUSPENSION RELATES TO INDICATIONS OF POTENTIAL CORPORATE GOVERNANCE BREACHES AT THE MANAGEMENT BOARD
LEVEL, WHICH WERE IDENTIFIED DURING THE AUDIT OF THE 2025 ANNUAL FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. UPON THE INITIATIVE OF THE BANK'S AUDIT
COMMITTEE-AND NOT BY ORDER OF BAFIN-BERENBERG PROACTIVELY COMMISSIONED AN INDEPENDENT INTERNAL FORENSIC INVESTIGATION INTO
THESE MATTERS. BERENBERG IS COOPERATING FULLY WITH BAFIN TO REVIEW THE FINDINGS AND EVALUATE POTENTIAL ENHANCEMENTS TO ITS
OPERATIONAL PROCESSES, INTERNAL CONTROL SYSTEMS, AND COMPLIANCE FRAMEWORKS.
8.
Current Status?      
 Pending
 On Appeal
 Final
9.
If on appeal, regulatory action appealed to (SEC, SRO, Federal or State Court) and Date Appeal Filed:
If Final or On Appeal, complete all items below. For Pending Actions, complete Item 13 only.
10. How was matter resolved:
11. Resolution Date (MM/DD/YYYY):
 Exact
 Explanation
If not exact, provide explanation:
12. Resolution Detail:
A.  Were any of the following Sanctions Ordered (check all appropriate items)?
 Monetary/Fine Amount: $
 Revocation/Expulsion/Denial
 Disgorgement/Restitution
 Censure
 Cease and Desist/Injunction
 Bar
 Suspension

B.
Other Sanctions Ordered:
Sanction detail: if suspended, enjoined or barred, provide duration including start date and capacities affected (General Securities Principal,
Financial Operations Principal, etc.). If requalification by exam/retraining was a condition of the sanction, provide length of time given to
requalify/retrain, type of exam required and whether condition has been satisfied. If disposition resulted in a fine, penalty, restitution,
disgorgement or monetary compensation, provide total amount, portion levied against you or an advisory affiliate, date paid and if any portion
of penalty was waived: 
13. Provide a brief summary of details related to the action status and (or) disposition and include relevant terms, conditions and dates (your response
must fit within the space provided).
ON JUNE 19, 2026, THE GERMAN REGULATOR, BAFIN SUSPENDED THE MANAGEMENT BOARD OF JOH. BERENBERG, GOSSLER & CO. KG ("BEGO"), BAM'S
ULTIMATE PARENT COMPANY, REGARDING POTENTIAL CORPORATE GOVERNANCE ISSUES IDENTIFIED IN A 2025 AUDIT. BAFIN APPOINTED DR. HANS-
WALTER PETERS AND MR. MICHAEL HORF AS SPECIAL REPRESENTATIVES TO PROVIDE INTERIM MANAGEMENT.

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.