Firm profile

Balefire, LLC

DALLAS, TXCRD 168733Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since January 8, 2014SEC # 801-78506Latest ADV March 31, 2026

Balefire, LLC is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a limited liability company with a primary office location in Dallas, TX. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated March 31, 2026, reports $2.0B in regulatory assets under management, 38 employees, 9 offices, and 1,871 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$2.0B
Employees
38
Offices
9 offices
Total Clients
1,864

Associated firm names

23 names listed
  • 401K FOR ME
  • WEALTHBRIDGE
  • VPAG LLC
  • VISIONPOINT GROUP, LLC

Leadership

1 roles identified
CCOMark M. Oswald

Advisory services offered

6 types reported
Educational seminars/workshops
Financial Planning Services
Pension consulting services

Fee models offered

3 types reported
Asset based fees
Fixed fees
Hourly charges

Offices & Contact

Primary office

DALLAS, Texas, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Texas

DALLASPrimary office

Arizona

PHOENIX

Colorado

CENTENNIAL

Georgia

ALPHARETTA

Iowa

BETTENDORF

Minnesota

ST LOUIS PARK

Mississippi

RIDGELAND

South Dakota

WATERTOWN · SIOUX FALLS

9 office records listed · 9 total offices reported. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$2.0Bas of March 31, 2026
Discretionary100.0%
$2.0B
100% of total RAUM100.0%
Non-discretionary0.0%
$0
0% of total RAUM0.0%
All regulatory assets under management are discretionary.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentIndividuals represent 81.7% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
Individuals
81.7%
1,522
2
HNWI
12.6%
235
3
Pension Plans
5.0%
94
4
Corporations
0.7%
13
Categories with <5 clients
Charitable Organizations<5 clients
Insurance companies<5 clients
State or municipal government entities (including govt. pension plans)<5 clients

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$2.0B
Total Accounts1,871
10Y AUM Change+$1.6B (+414.1%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by Balefire, LLC

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees38
Clients per Employee49:1
10Y Employee Change+27 (+245.5%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
LOANCO, LLCDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in BALEFIRE, LLC
50% to < 75%
JASON SIMPSON HESTERDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in BALEFIRE, LLC
10% to < 25%
GEORGE WESLEY HESTERDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in BALEFIRE, LLC
10% to < 25%
BLAIR M ENFIELDDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in BALEFIRE, LLC
5% to < 10%
Christopher Allen TiptonDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in BALEFIRE, LLC
5% to < 10%
Steven Ray RutledgeDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in BALEFIRE, LLC
5% to < 10%
JOHN ROBERT HOFFMANDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in BALEFIRE, LLC
< 5%
BRAD LEONARD NEUGEBAUERIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in 11:36, LLC
75%+
BRIAN SCOTT SMITHIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in FINANCIAL NAVIGATOR, LLC
75%+
JOHN ROBERT HOFFMANIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in HOFFMAN INVESTMENTS, LLC
75%+
JAMES MARSHALL MARSIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in JAMES MARSHALL, LLC
75%+
DONALD PETE PETERSONIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in PETERSON CORPORATE PLANNING
75%+
SCOTT MICHAEL MUNGERIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in SCOTT MUNGER AGENCY, LLC
75%+
JAMES MARSHALL, LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in LOANCO, LLC
25% to < 50%

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Balefire, LLC.

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-03-31 · Schedules A and B

22 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1JOHN ROBERT HOFFMANMANAGING PARTNERIndividualBALEFIRE, LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesMANAGING PARTNER01/2025Schedule APDF page 25
2MARK MICHAEL OSWALDCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICERIndividualBALEFIRE, LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER11/2023Schedule APDF page 25
3JASON SIMPSON HESTERMANAGING PARTNERIndividualBALEFIRE, LLC10% to less than 25%Code BYesMANAGING PARTNER01/2025Schedule APDF page 25
4LOANCO, LLCMAJORITY OWNERDomestic entityBALEFIRE, LLC50% to less than 75%Code DYesMAJORITY OWNER01/2025Schedule APDF page 25
5GEORGE WESLEY HESTERMINORITY OWNERIndividualBALEFIRE, LLC10% to less than 25%Code BYesMINORITY OWNER01/2025Schedule APDF page 25
6BLAIR M ENFIELDMINORITY OWNERIndividualBALEFIRE, LLC5% to less than 10%Code AYesMINORITY OWNER01/2025Schedule APDF page 25
7Christopher Allen TiptonMINORITY OWNERIndividualBALEFIRE, LLC5% to less than 10%Code AYesMINORITY OWNER01/2025Schedule APDF page 25
8Steven Ray RutledgeMINORITY OWNERIndividualBALEFIRE, LLC5% to less than 10%Code AYesMINORITY OWNER01/2025Schedule APDF page 25
911:36, LLCOWNERDomestic entityLOANCO, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26
10BJORKLUND FINANCIAL, INCOWNERDomestic entityLOANCO, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26
11FINANCIAL NAVIGATOR, LLCOWNERDomestic entityLOANCO, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26
12HOFFMAN INVESTMENTS, LLCOWNERDomestic entityLOANCO, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26
13JAMES MARSHALL, LLCOWNERDomestic entityLOANCO, LLC25% to less than 50%Code CYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26
14JW FINANCIAL, LLCOWNERDomestic entityLOANCO, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26
15PETERSON CORPORATE PLANNINGOWNERDomestic entityLOANCO, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26
16SCOTT MUNGER AGENCY, LLCOWNERDomestic entityLOANCO, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26
17BRAD LEONARD NEUGEBAUEROWNERIndividual11:36, LLC75% or moreCode EYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26
18BRIAN SCOTT SMITHOWNERIndividualFINANCIAL NAVIGATOR, LLC75% or moreCode EYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26
19JOHN ROBERT HOFFMANOWNERIndividualHOFFMAN INVESTMENTS, LLC75% or moreCode EYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26
20JAMES MARSHALL MARSOWNERIndividualJAMES MARSHALL, LLC75% or moreCode EYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26
21DONALD PETE PETERSONOWNERIndividualPETERSON CORPORATE PLANNING75% or moreCode EYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26
22SCOTT MICHAEL MUNGEROWNERIndividualSCOTT MUNGER AGENCY, LLC75% or moreCode EYesOWNER01/2025Schedule BPDF page 26

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 3/31/2026 11:11:14 AM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that one or more events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseYes
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions3 Yes2 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?Yes
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?Yes
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?Yes
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No
Additional DRP filings 1 source block

Verbatim excerpts from supporting DRP filings, which may concern the firm or advisory affiliates. Amounts retain their filed labels; no total or attribution is inferred.

regulatory · block 1PDF pages 26–28
Regulator name — filed text
UNITED STATE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
Monetary/Fine Amount — filed text
$ 45,000.00
How was matter resolved — filed text
Decision & Order of Offer of Settlement

Action status / disposition — filed text

IN ORDER TO RESOLVE AN ALLEGED FAILURE TO PROPERLY DISCLOSE LOANS FROM BROKER-DEALER, VISIONPOINT ADVISORY GROUP SUBMITTED AN OFFER OF SETTLEMENT TO THE SEC THAT RESULTED IN AN ORDER THAT INCLUDED CENSURE, CEASE AND DESIST WITH RESPECT TO THE ALLEGED DISCLOSURE VIOLATIONS, AND A $45,000 FINE, WHICH HAS BEEN PAID BY VISIONPOINT ADVISORY GROUP.
Other filed details

Description of allegations — filed text

ALLEGED FAILURE TO PROPERLY DISCLOSE LOANS FROM BROKER-DEALER TO VISIONPOINT ADVISORY GROUP AND CERTAIN OF ITS ADVISORY AFFILIATES.

Sanction detail — filed text

FINE OF $45000; VISIONPOINT ADVISORY GROUP; PAID BY 10/10/17
Full extracted filing text

Includes form instructions and options. Options shown in this text do not identify which boxes were selected.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
This Disclosure Reporting Page (DRP ADV) is an 
INITIAL OR
AMENDED response used to report details for affirmative responses to Items 11.C., 11.D.,
11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. of Form ADV.
Regulatory Action
Check item(s) being responded to:
11.C(1)
11.C(2)
11.C(3)
11.C(4)
11.C(5)
11.D(1)
11.D(2)
11.D(3)
11.D(4)
11.D(5)
11.E(1)
11.E(2)
11.E(3)
11.E(4)
11.F.
11.G.
Use a separate DRP for each event or proceeding . The same event or proceeding may be reported for more than one person or entity using one DRP. File
with a completed Execution Page. 
One event may result in more than one affirmative answer to Items 11.C., 11.D., 11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. Use only one DRP to report details related to the
same event. If an event gives rise to actions by more than one regulator, provide details for each action on a separate DRP.

PART I
A.  The person(s) or entity(ies) for whom this DRP is being filed is (are):
You (the advisory firm)
You and one or more of your advisory affiliates
One or more of your advisory affiliates
If this DRP is being filed for an advisory affiliate, give the full name of the advisory affiliate below (for individuals, Last name, First name, Middle name). 
If the advisory affiliate has a CRD number, provide that number. If not, indicate "non-registered" by checking the appropriate box.
ADV DRP - ADVISORY AFFILIATE
No Information Filed
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because the advisory affiliate(s) is no longer associated with the adviser.
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because: (1) the event or proceeding occurred more than ten years ago or (2) the adviser is
registered or applying for registration with the SEC or reporting as an exempt reporting adviser with the SEC and the event was resolved in the
adviser's or advisory affiliate's favor.
If you are registered or registering with a state securities authority , you may remove a DRP for an event you reported only in response to Item
11.D(4), and only if that event occurred more than ten years ago. If you are registered or registering with the SEC, you may remove a DRP for any
event listed in Item 11 that occurred more than ten years ago.
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because it was filed in error, such as due to a clerical or data-entry mistake. Explain the
circumstances: 
B.
If the advisory affiliate is registered through the IARD system or CRD system, has the advisory affiliate submitted a DRP (with Form ADV, BD or U-4) to
the IARD or CRD for the event? If the answer is "Yes," no other information on this DRP must be provided.
 Yes
 No
NOTE: The completion of this form does not relieve the advisory affiliate of its obligation to update its IARD or CRD records.
PART II
1.  Regulatory Action initiated by:
SEC   
Other Federal   
State   
SRO
Foreign
(Full name of regulator, foreign financial regulatory authority, federal, state, or SRO) 
UNITED STATE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
2.
Principal Sanction:
Cease and Desist
Other Sanctions: 
CENSURE; ADMINISTRATIVE FINE
3.
Date Initiated (MM/DD/YYYY): 
12/01/2015
 Exact
 Explanation
If not exact, provide explanation:
DECEMBER 2015
4.
Docket/Case Number:
FILE NO. 3-18215
5.
Advisory Affiliate Employing Firm when activity occurred which led to the regulatory action (if applicable):
6.
Principal Product Type:
No Product
Other Product Types: 
7.
Describe the allegations related to this regulatory action (your response must fit within the space provided):
ALLEGED FAILURE TO PROPERLY DISCLOSE LOANS FROM BROKER-DEALER TO VISIONPOINT ADVISORY GROUP AND CERTAIN OF ITS ADVISORY
AFFILIATES.
8.
Current Status?      
 Pending
 On Appeal
 Final
9.
If on appeal, regulatory action appealed to (SEC, SRO, Federal or State Court) and Date Appeal Filed:

If Final or On Appeal, complete all items below. For Pending Actions, complete Item 13 only.
10. How was matter resolved:
Decision & Order of Offer of Settlement
11. Resolution Date (MM/DD/YYYY):
09/26/2017
 Exact
 Explanation
If not exact, provide explanation:
12. Resolution Detail:
A.  Were any of the following Sanctions Ordered (check all appropriate items)?
 Monetary/Fine Amount: $ 45,000.00
 Revocation/Expulsion/Denial
 Disgorgement/Restitution
 Censure
 Cease and Desist/Injunction
 Bar
 Suspension
B.
Other Sanctions Ordered:
Sanction detail: if suspended, enjoined or barred, provide duration including start date and capacities affected (General Securities Principal,
Financial Operations Principal, etc.). If requalification by exam/retraining was a condition of the sanction, provide length of time given to
requalify/retrain, type of exam required and whether condition has been satisfied. If disposition resulted in a fine, penalty, restitution,
disgorgement or monetary compensation, provide total amount, portion levied against you or an advisory affiliate, date paid and if any portion
of penalty was waived: 
FINE OF $45000; VISIONPOINT ADVISORY GROUP; PAID BY 10/10/17
13. Provide a brief summary of details related to the action status and (or) disposition and include relevant terms, conditions and dates (your response
must fit within the space provided).
IN ORDER TO RESOLVE AN ALLEGED FAILURE TO PROPERLY DISCLOSE LOANS FROM BROKER-DEALER, VISIONPOINT ADVISORY GROUP SUBMITTED AN
OFFER OF SETTLEMENT TO THE SEC THAT RESULTED IN AN ORDER THAT INCLUDED CENSURE, CEASE AND DESIST WITH RESPECT TO THE ALLEGED
DISCLOSURE VIOLATIONS, AND A $45,000 FINE, WHICH HAS BEEN PAID BY VISIONPOINT ADVISORY GROUP.

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.