Firm profile

D/B/A the Davis Companies or Davis

BOSTON, MACRD 161888Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since March 28, 2012SEC # 801-74372Latest ADV April 29, 2026

D/B/A the Davis Companies Or Davis is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a limited liability company with a primary office location in Boston, MA. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated April 29, 2026, reports $2.0B in regulatory assets under management, 46 employees, 2 offices, and 21 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$2.0B
Employees
46
Offices
2 offices
Total Clients
21

Associated firm names

4 names listed
  • D/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES
  • THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVIS
  • DAVIS INVESTMENT VENTURES, LLC
  • D/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVIS

Leadership

4 roles identified
CEOStephen T. Davis
CCORobert A. Kubica
CFOJoshua D. Israel

Advisory services offered

1 types reported
Portfolio management for pooled investment vehicles

Fee models offered

2 types reported
Asset based fees
Performance-based fees

Offices & Contact

Primary office

BOSTON, Massachusetts, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Massachusetts

BOSTONPrimary office

New York

NEW YORK

2 office records listed · 2 total offices reported. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$2.0Bas of April 29, 2026
Discretionary95.1%
$1.9B
95% of total RAUM95.1%
Non-discretionary4.9%
$101M
5% of total RAUM4.9%
Regulatory assets under management are split between discretionary and non-discretionary assets.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentPooled Investment Vehicles represent 100.0% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
Pooled Investment Vehicles
100.0%
21

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$2.0B
Total Accounts21
10Y AUM Change+$809M (+65.2%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by D/B/A the Davis Companies or Davis

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees46
Clients per Employee0:1
10Y Employee Change+21 (+84.0%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
JONATHAN GOLOMB DAVISDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in D/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVIS
75%+
THE DAVIS LEGACY TRUST FBO STEPHEN DAVISDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in D/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVIS
25% to < 50%
THE DAVIS LEGACY TRUST FBO MOLLY MACLEODDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in D/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVIS
25% to < 50%
DAVIS INVESTMENT CORP.Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in D/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVIS
< 5%
MARGOT TROTTER DAVISIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in DAVIS INVESTMENT CORP.
75%+
STEPHEN THAYER DAVISIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in THE DAVIS LEGACY TRUST FBO STEPHEN DAVIS
75%+
Molly Davis MacleodIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in THE DAVIS LEGACY TRUST FBO MOLLY MACLEOD
75%+

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to D/B/A the Davis Companies or Davis.

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-04-29 · Schedules A and B

20 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1JONATHAN GOLOMB DAVISMEMBER AND CHAIRMANIndividualD/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVIS75% or moreCode EYesMEMBER AND CHAIRMAN04/2008Schedule APDF page 124
2DAVIS INVESTMENT CORP.MEMBER MANAGERDomestic entityD/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVISLess than 5%Code NAYesMEMBER MANAGER04/2008Schedule APDF page 124
3QUENTIN ARMSTRONG REYNOLDSCIOIndividualD/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVISLess than 5%Code NAYesCIO02/2020Schedule APDF page 124
4CATHERINE FLYNNE DAUMECHIEF PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT OFFICERIndividualD/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVISLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT OFFICER04/2009Schedule APDF page 124
5STEPHEN MICHAEL COYLEMANAGING DIRECTOR OF INVESTOR RELATIONS AND MARKETINGIndividualD/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVISLess than 5%Code NAYesMANAGING DIRECTOR OF INVESTOR RELATIONS AND MARKETING03/2017Schedule APDF page 124
6STEPHEN THAYER DAVISCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERIndividualD/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVISLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER01/2021Schedule APDF page 124
7MARK WILCOX SMITHMANAGING DIRECTOR OF PROPERTY MANAGEMENT & OPERATIONSIndividualD/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVISLess than 5%Code NAYesMANAGING DIRECTOR OF PROPERTY MANAGEMENT & OPERATIONS08/2020Schedule APDF page 124
8MICHAEL ANTHONY CANTALUPACHIEF DEVELOPMENT OFFICERIndividualD/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVISLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF DEVELOPMENT OFFICER06/2020Schedule APDF page 124
9JOSHUA DANIEL ISRAELCFOIndividualD/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVISLess than 5%Code NAYesCFO10/2022Schedule APDF page 124
10ROBERT ANTHONY KUBICAMANAGING DIRECTOR, GENERAL COUNSEL, CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICERIndividualD/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVISLess than 5%Code NAYesMANAGING DIRECTOR, GENERAL COUNSEL, CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER10/2022Schedule APDF page 124
11LESLIE GOLDBERG COHENCHIEF OPERATING OFFICERIndividualD/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVISLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF OPERATING OFFICER09/2022Schedule APDF page 124
12THE DAVIS LEGACY TRUST FBO STEPHEN DAVISMEMBERDomestic entityD/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVIS25% to less than 50%Code CYesMEMBER11/2021Schedule APDF page 124
13THE DAVIS LEGACY TRUST FBO MOLLY MACLEODMEMBERDomestic entityD/B/A THE DAVIS COMPANIES OR DAVIS25% to less than 50%Code CYesMEMBER11/2021Schedule APDF page 124
14MARGOT TROTTER DAVISDIRECTOR AND SECRETARY, SOLE SHAREHOLDERIndividualDAVIS INVESTMENT CORP.75% or moreCode EYesDIRECTOR AND SECRETARY, SOLE SHAREHOLDER10/1991Schedule BPDF page 124
15Stephen Paul LilienthalTRUSTEEIndividualTHE DAVIS LEGACY TRUST FBO STEPHEN DAVISPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE10/2021Schedule BPDF page 124
16Stephen Paul LilienthalTRUSTEEIndividualTHE DAVIS LEGACY TRUST FBO MOLLY MACLEODPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE10/2021Schedule BPDF page 125
17STEPHEN THAYER DAVISTRUSTEEIndividualTHE DAVIS LEGACY TRUST FBO STEPHEN DAVIS75% or moreCode EYesTRUSTEE10/2021Schedule BPDF page 125
18Molly Davis MacleodTRUSTEEIndividualTHE DAVIS LEGACY TRUST FBO MOLLY MACLEOD75% or moreCode EYesTRUSTEE10/2021Schedule BPDF page 125
19STEVEN MATTHEW BURKETRUSTEEIndividualTHE DAVIS LEGACY TRUST FBO STEPHEN DAVISPercentage not specifiedCode FNoTRUSTEE10/2021Schedule BPDF page 125
20STEVEN MATTHEW BURKETRUSTEEIndividualTHE DAVIS LEGACY TRUST FBO MOLLY MACLEODPercentage not specifiedCode FNoTRUSTEE10/2021Schedule BPDF page 125

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 4/29/2026 7:05:34 PM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.