Firm profile

Matrix Capital Management Company, LP

PORTSMOUTH, NHCRD 160066Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since March 30, 2012SEC # 801-73612Latest ADV March 31, 2026

Matrix Capital Management Company, LP is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a limited partnership with a primary office location in Portsmouth, NH. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated March 31, 2026, reports $2.3B in regulatory assets under management, 7 employees, 1 office, and 4 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$2.3B
Employees
7
Offices
1 office
Total Clients
<5

Associated firm names

5 names listed
  • MATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LLC
  • MATRIX RESTRICTED FUND GENERAL PARTNER, LPRelying adviser
  • MATRIX INSTITUTIONAL ADVISERS, LPRelying adviser
  • MATRIX GENERAL PARTNER, LPRelying adviser

Leadership

3 roles identified
CCOJoseph B. Downing
CFOChristopher D. Johnson
COOJoseph B. Downing

Advisory services offered

1 types reported
Portfolio management for pooled investment vehicles

Fee models offered

2 types reported
Asset based fees
Performance-based fees

Offices & Contact

Primary office

PORTSMOUTH, New Hampshire, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

New Hampshire

PORTSMOUTHPrimary office

1 office records listed · 1 total offices reported. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$2.3Bas of March 31, 2026
Discretionary100.0%
$2.3B
100% of total RAUM100.0%
Non-discretionary0.0%
$0
0% of total RAUM0.0%
All regulatory assets under management are discretionary.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentPooled Investment Vehicles represent 100.0% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
Pooled Investment Vehicles
100.0%
4

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$2.3B
Total Accounts4
10Y AUM Change$-649M (-21.8%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by Matrix Capital Management Company, LP

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees7
Clients per Employee1:1
10Y Employee Change-11 (-61.1%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
DAVID ESPINA GOELDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in MATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LP
50% to < 75%
FERRI GRANDCHILDREN'S TRUST - 1995Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in MATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LP
10% to < 25%
PJF ACORN I TRUSTDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in MATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LP
10% to < 25%
MATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT GP, LLCDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in MATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LP
< 5%
DAVID ESPINA GOELIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in MATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT GP, LLC
75%+

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Matrix Capital Management Company, LP.

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-03-31 · Schedules A and B

13 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1DAVID ESPINA GOELLIMITED PARTNERIndividualMATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LP50% to less than 75%Code DYesLIMITED PARTNER10/1999Schedule APDF page 31
2FERRI GRANDCHILDREN'S TRUST - 1995LIMITED PARTNERDomestic entityMATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LP10% to less than 25%Code BNoLIMITED PARTNER10/1999Schedule APDF page 31
3CHRISTOPHER DAVID JOHNSONCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERIndividualMATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LPLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER03/2006Schedule APDF page 31
4MATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT GP, LLCGENERAL PARTNERDomestic entityMATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LPLess than 5%Code NAYesGENERAL PARTNER12/2014Schedule APDF page 31
5PJF ACORN I TRUSTLIMITED PARTNERDomestic entityMATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LP10% to less than 25%Code BNoLIMITED PARTNER12/2014Schedule APDF page 31
6JOSEPH BRIAN DOWNINGCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICERIndividualMATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LPLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER02/2026Schedule APDF page 31
7MICHAEL JOHN FERRITRUSTEEIndividualFERRI GRANDCHILDREN'S TRUST - 1995Percentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE12/2011Schedule BPDF page 32
8DAVID ESPINA GOELMEMBERIndividualMATRIX CAPITAL MANAGEMENT GP, LLC75% or moreCode EYesMEMBER12/2014Schedule BPDF page 32
9JESSICA ANNE SCHMITZTRUSTEEIndividualPJF ACORN I TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE07/2020Schedule BPDF page 32
10TIMOTHY A. BARROWSTRUSTEEIndividualPJF ACORN I TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE07/2020Schedule BPDF page 32
11MICHAEL JOHN FERRITRUSTEEIndividualPJF ACORN I TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE07/2020Schedule BPDF page 32
12DAVID ESPINA GOELTRUSTEEIndividualPJF ACORN I TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE07/2020Schedule BPDF page 32
13JESSICA ANNE SCHMITZTRUSTEEIndividualFERRI GRANDCHILDREN'S TRUST - 1995Percentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE03/2007Schedule BPDF page 32

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 3/31/2026 4:24:50 PM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.