Firm profile

Harrison Street Advisors, LLC

CHICAGO, ILCRD 157983Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since September 30, 2011SEC # 801-72727Latest ADV March 31, 2026

Harrison Street Advisors, LLC is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a limited liability company with a primary office location in Chicago, IL. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated March 31, 2026, reports $20.2B in regulatory assets under management, 321 employees, 11 offices, and 12 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$20.2B
Employees
321
Offices
11 offices
Total Clients
12

Associated firm names

2 names listed
  • HARRISON STREET ADVISORS, LLC
  • HARRISON STREET ASSET MANAGEMENT ULC

Leadership

4 roles identified
CEOChristopher N. Merrill
CCOMichael S. Gershowitz
CFOZachary J. Michaud

Advisory services offered

2 types reported
Portfolio management for businesses
Portfolio management for pooled investment vehicles

Fee models offered

2 types reported
Asset based fees
Performance-based fees

Offices & Contact

Primary office

CHICAGO, Illinois, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Illinois

CHICAGOPrimary office

California

SAN FRANCISCO

Canada

TORONTO

District of Columbia

WASHINGTON

Japan

MINATO -KU, TOKYO

Korea, South

SEOUL

Luxembourg

VILLE-HAUTE

New York

NEW YORK

Spain

MADRID

United Arab Emirates

AL MARYAH ISLAND, ABU DHABI

United Kingdom

LONDON

11 office records listed · 11 total offices reported. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$20.2Bas of March 31, 2026
Discretionary100.0%
$20.2B
100% of total RAUM100.0%
Non-discretionary0.0%
$0
0% of total RAUM0.0%
All regulatory assets under management are discretionary.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentPooled Investment Vehicles represent 91.7% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
Pooled Investment Vehicles
91.7%
11
2
Pension Plans
8.3%
1
Categories with <5 clients
Pension and profit sharing plans<5 clients

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$20.2B
Total Accounts12
10Y AUM Change+$16.7B (+486.0%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by Harrison Street Advisors, LLC

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees321
Clients per Employee0:1
10Y Employee Change+246 (+328.0%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
HARRISON STREET REAL ESTATE CAPITAL, LLCDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in HARRISON STREET ADVISORS, LLC
75%+
COLLIERS INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT HOLDINGS, INC.Indirect owner · Schedule BInterest in HARRISON STREET REAL ESTATE CAPITAL, LLC
75%+
COLLIERS INTERNATIONAL GROUP INC.Indirect owner · Schedule BInterest in HARRISON STREET ASSET MANAGEMENT ULC
75%+
HARRISON STREET ASSET MANAGEMENT ULCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in COLLIERS INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT HOLDINGS, INC.
75%+

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Harrison Street Advisors, LLC.

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-03-31 · Schedules A and B

11 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1HARRISON STREET REAL ESTATE CAPITAL, LLCSOLE MEMBERDomestic entityHARRISON STREET ADVISORS, LLC75% or moreCode EYesSOLE MEMBER05/2011Schedule APDF page 95
2CHRISTOPHER NELSON MERRILLGLOBAL CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERIndividualHARRISON STREET ADVISORS, LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesGLOBAL CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER12/2011Schedule APDF page 95
3STEPHEN MARC GORDONGLOBAL CHIEF OPERATING OFFICERIndividualHARRISON STREET ADVISORS, LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesGLOBAL CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER10/2025Schedule APDF page 95
4MICHAEL STEVEN GERSHOWITZGLOBAL CHIEF LEGAL OFFICER, CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICERIndividualHARRISON STREET ADVISORS, LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesGLOBAL CHIEF LEGAL OFFICER, CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER03/2020Schedule APDF page 95
5Zachary Jean MichaudGLOBAL CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERIndividualHARRISON STREET ADVISORS, LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesGLOBAL CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER10/2025Schedule APDF page 96
6CHRISTOPHER NELSON MERRILLELECTED MANAGERIndividualHARRISON STREET REAL ESTATE CAPITAL, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesELECTED MANAGER09/2005Schedule BPDF page 96
7COLLIERS INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT HOLDINGS, INC.INDIRECT OWNERDomestic entityHARRISON STREET REAL ESTATE CAPITAL, LLC75% or moreCode EYesINDIRECT OWNER07/2018Schedule BPDF page 96
8COLLIERS INTERNATIONAL GROUP INC.INDIRECT OWNERForeign entityHARRISON STREET ASSET MANAGEMENT ULC75% or moreCode EYesINDIRECT OWNER10/2025Schedule BPDF page 96
9HARRISON STREET ASSET MANAGEMENT ULCINDIRECT OWNERForeign entityCOLLIERS INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT HOLDINGS, INC.75% or moreCode EYesINDIRECT OWNER10/2025Schedule BPDF page 96
10JAY STEWART HENNICKELECTED MANAGERIndividualHARRISON STREET REAL ESTATE CAPITAL, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesELECTED MANAGER07/2018Schedule BPDF page 96
11MATTHEW SCOTT HAWKINSELECTED MANAGERIndividualHARRISON STREET REAL ESTATE CAPITAL, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesELECTED MANAGER10/2025Schedule BPDF page 96

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 3/31/2026 11:38:20 AM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.