Firm profile

Mad River Investors

BOSTON, MACRD 130585Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since April 22, 2004SEC # 801-62991Latest ADV July 7, 2026

Mad River Investors is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a limited liability company with a primary office location in Boston, MA. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated July 7, 2026, reports $404M in regulatory assets under management, 6 employees, 2 offices, and 140 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$404M
Employees
6
Offices
2 offices
Total Clients
101

Associated firm names

3 names listed
  • MAD RIVER ADVISORS
  • MRM-HORIZON ADVISORS, LLC
  • MAD RIVER INVESTORS

Leadership

1 roles identified
CCOStephen C. Carluccio

Advisory services offered

4 types reported
Portfolio management for businesses
Portfolio management for individuals and small businesses
Portfolio management for pooled investment vehicles

Fee models offered

2 types reported
Asset based fees
Performance-based fees

Offices & Contact

Primary office

BOSTON, Massachusetts, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Massachusetts

BOSTONPrimary office

1 office records listed · 2 total offices reported. 1 additional office addresses are undisclosed and are not mapped. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$404Mas of July 7, 2026
Discretionary100.0%
$404M
100% of total RAUM100.0%
Non-discretionary0.0%
$0
0% of total RAUM0.0%
All regulatory assets under management are discretionary.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentHNWI represent 67.3% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
HNWI
67.3%
68
2
Individuals
20.8%
21
3
Corporations
5.9%
6
4
Pension Plans
4.0%
4
5
Pooled Investment Vehicles
2.0%
2

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$404M
Total Accounts140
10Y AUM Change+$196M (+94.5%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by Mad River Investors

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees6
Clients per Employee17:1
10Y Employee Change0 (0.0%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
RICHARD WILLIAM SILVERDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in MAD RIVER INVESTORS
75%+
LINDSAY SILVER 2005 TRUSTDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in MAD RIVER INVESTORS
< 5%

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Mad River Investors.

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-07-07 · Schedules A and B

5 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1RICHARD WILLIAM SILVERMANAGING MEMBERIndividualMAD RIVER INVESTORS75% or moreCode EYesMANAGING MEMBER11/1997Schedule APDF page 28
2LINDSAY SILVER 2005 TRUSTMEMBERDomestic entityMAD RIVER INVESTORSLess than 5%Code NANoMEMBER12/2005Schedule APDF page 28
3STEPHEN CHARLES CARLUCCIOGENERAL COUNSEL/CCOIndividualMAD RIVER INVESTORSLess than 5%Code NANoGENERAL COUNSEL/CCO02/2012Schedule APDF page 28
4STEPHEN SILVERTRUSTEE, LINDSAY SILVER 2005 TRUSTIndividualLINDSAY SILVER 2005 TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FNoTRUSTEE, LINDSAY SILVER 2005 TRUST12/2005Schedule BPDF page 29
5STEPHEN CHARLES CARLUCCIOTRUSTEE, LINDSAY SILVER 2005 TRUSTIndividualLINDSAY SILVER 2005 TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FNoTRUSTEE, LINDSAY SILVER 2005 TRUST12/2005Schedule BPDF page 29

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 7/7/2026 11:15:05 AM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.