Firm profile

North Star Investment Management Corporation

CHICAGO, ILCRD 117681Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since April 28, 2003SEC # 801-62013Latest ADV April 14, 2026

North Star Investment Management Corporation is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a corporation with a primary office location in Chicago, IL. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated April 14, 2026, reports $2.5B in regulatory assets under management, 26 employees, 3 offices, and 2,643 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$2.5B
Employees
26
Offices
3 offices
Total Clients
2,643

Associated firm names

4 names listed
  • GOTTLIEB INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT CORPORATION
  • NORTH STAR INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT CORPORATION
  • NORTH STAR FINANCIAL SERVICES CORP.
  • KUBY GOTTLIEB INVESTMENT ADVISORS, LTD.

Leadership

2 roles identified
CCOAndrew Eisenberg
CIOEric C. Kuby

Advisory services offered

7 types reported
Financial Planning Services
Pension consulting services
Portfolio management for businesses

Fee models offered

3 types reported
Asset based fees
Fixed fees
Hourly charges

Offices & Contact

Primary office

CHICAGO, Illinois, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Illinois

CHICAGOPrimary office · HIGHLAND PARK · GLEN ELLYN

3 office records listed · 3 total offices reported. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$2.5Bas of April 14, 2026
Discretionary96.9%
$2.4B
97% of total RAUM96.9%
Non-discretionary3.1%
$77M
3% of total RAUM3.1%
Regulatory assets under management are split between discretionary and non-discretionary assets.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentIndividuals represent 76.5% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
Individuals
76.5%
2,023
2
HNWI
19.4%
513
3
Pension Plans
3.0%
80
4
Charitable
0.8%
22
5
Investment Cos.
0.2%
5
Categories with <5 clients
Banking or thrift institutions<5 clients
Corporations or other businesses not listed above<5 clients
Other categories<5 clients

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$2.5B
Total Accounts2,643
10Y AUM Change+$1.4B (+125.5%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by North Star Investment Management Corporation

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees26
Clients per Employee102:1
10Y Employee Change+4 (+18.2%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
NORTH STAR FINANCIAL SERVICES CORP.Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in NORTH STAR INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT CORPORATION
75%+
PETER D. GOTTLIEB REVOCABLE TRUST U/A/D 1/21/03Indirect owner · Schedule BInterest in NORTH STAR FINANCIAL SERVICES CORP.
25% to < 50%
ERIC C KUBY LIVING TRUST U/A/D 3/13/03Indirect owner · Schedule BInterest in NORTH STAR FINANCIAL SERVICES CORP.
25% to < 50%

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to North Star Investment Management Corporation.

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-04-14 · Schedules A and B

9 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1PETER DAVID GOTTLIEBDIRECTOR; PRESIDENTIndividualNORTH STAR INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT CORPORATIONLess than 5%Code NAYesDIRECTOR; PRESIDENT08/2001Schedule APDF page 23
2ERIC CHARLES KUBYDIRECTOR; CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICERIndividualNORTH STAR INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT CORPORATIONLess than 5%Code NAYesDIRECTOR; CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICER10/2004Schedule APDF page 23
3NORTH STAR FINANCIAL SERVICES CORP.SHAREHOLDERDomestic entityNORTH STAR INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT CORPORATION75% or moreCode EYesSHAREHOLDER06/2006Schedule APDF page 23
4BRADLEY ERIC COHENPORTFOLIO MANAGERIndividualNORTH STAR INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT CORPORATIONLess than 5%Code NAYesPORTFOLIO MANAGER06/2008Schedule APDF page 23
5ANDREW EISENBERGCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICERIndividualNORTH STAR INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT CORPORATIONLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER03/2016Schedule APDF page 23
6PETER DAVID GOTTLIEBTRUSTEEIndividualPETER D. GOTTLIEB REVOCABLE TRUST U/A/D 1/21/03Percentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE01/2018Schedule BPDF page 24
7ERIC CHARLES KUBYTRUSTEEIndividualERIC C KUBY LIVING TRUST U/A/D 3/13/03Percentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE01/2018Schedule BPDF page 24
8PETER D. GOTTLIEB REVOCABLE TRUST U/A/D 1/21/03SHAREHOLDERDomestic entityNORTH STAR FINANCIAL SERVICES CORP.25% to less than 50%Code CYesSHAREHOLDER01/2018Schedule BPDF page 24
9ERIC C KUBY LIVING TRUST U/A/D 3/13/03SHAREHOLDERDomestic entityNORTH STAR FINANCIAL SERVICES CORP.25% to less than 50%Code CYesSHAREHOLDER01/2018Schedule BPDF page 24

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 4/14/2026 6:19:15 PM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.