Firm profile

True North Advisors, LLC

DALLAS, TXCRD 116048Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since February 21, 2006SEC # 801-66250Latest ADV July 16, 2026

True North Advisors, LLC is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a limited liability company with a primary office location in Dallas, TX. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated July 16, 2026, reports $5.4B in regulatory assets under management, 89 employees, 6 offices, and 5,298 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$5.4B
Employees
89
Offices
6 offices
Total Clients
1,068

Associated firm names

1 name listed
  • TRUE NORTH ADVISORS, LLC

Leadership

3 roles identified
CEOScott A. Wood
CCOWilliam M. Sharp
COOChristopher E. Pate

Advisory services offered

6 types reported
Financial Planning Services
Pension consulting services
Portfolio management for businesses

Fee models offered

3 types reported
Asset based fees
Fixed fees
Performance-based fees

Offices & Contact

Primary office

DALLAS, Texas, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Texas

DALLASPrimary office · FORT WORTH · AUSTIN · KERRVILLE

California

DANVILLE

5 office records listed · 6 total offices reported. 1 additional office addresses are undisclosed and are not mapped. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$5.4Bas of July 16, 2026
Discretionary92.6%
$5.0B
93% of total RAUM92.6%
Non-discretionary7.4%
$402M
7% of total RAUM7.4%
Regulatory assets under management are split between discretionary and non-discretionary assets.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentHNWI represent 55.6% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
HNWI
55.6%
594
2
Individuals
40.1%
428
3
Pooled Investment Vehicles
3.2%
34
4
Charitable
0.7%
7
5
Corporations
0.5%
5

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$5.4B
Total Accounts5,298
10Y AUM Change+$4.3B (+378.9%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by True North Advisors, LLC

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees89
Clients per Employee12:1
10Y Employee Change+66 (+287.0%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
TRUE NORTH ADVISORS HOLDINGS, LLCDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in TRUE NORTH ADVISORS, LLC
75%+
SCOTT ADAIR WOODDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in TRUE NORTH ADVISORS, LLC
25% to < 50%
MARK HUNTER GEHLBACHDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in TRUE NORTH ADVISORS, LLC
10% to < 25%
DHRUV MANIKTALADirect owner · Schedule AInterest in TRUE NORTH ADVISORS, LLC
5% to < 10%
CHRISTOPHER ELLIOTT PATEDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in TRUE NORTH ADVISORS, LLC
5% to < 10%
ASPIRE HOLDINGS, LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in WPCG ASPIRE, LLC
75%+
WPCG ASPIRE HOLDINGS, LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in PROJECT DELTA ACQUISITION, LLC
75%+
WPCG ASPIRE, LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in WPCG ASPIRE HOLDINGS, LLC
75%+
PROJECT DELTA ACQUISITION, LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in TRUE NORTH ADVISORS HOLDINGS, LLC
25% to < 50%
WOOD FAMILY TRUSTIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in TRUE NORTH ADVISORS HOLDINGS, LLC
25% to < 50%

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to True North Advisors, LLC.

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-07-16 · Schedules A and B

17 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1SCOTT ADAIR WOODMANAGING MEMBER, CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERIndividualTRUE NORTH ADVISORS, LLC25% to less than 50%Code CYesMANAGING MEMBER, CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER07/2000Schedule APDF page 169
2MARK HUNTER GEHLBACHMANAGING MEMBER, PRESIDENTIndividualTRUE NORTH ADVISORS, LLC10% to less than 25%Code BYesMANAGING MEMBER, PRESIDENT07/2000Schedule APDF page 169
3WILLIAM MICHAEL SHARPCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER AND MD OF FINANCEIndividualTRUE NORTH ADVISORS, LLCLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER AND MD OF FINANCE01/2018Schedule APDF page 169
4DHRUV MANIKTALACIOIndividualTRUE NORTH ADVISORS, LLC5% to less than 10%Code AYesCIO01/2018Schedule APDF page 169
5CHRISTOPHER ELLIOTT PATECHIEF OPERATING OFFICERIndividualTRUE NORTH ADVISORS, LLC5% to less than 10%Code AYesCHIEF OPERATING OFFICER01/2019Schedule APDF page 169
6TRUE NORTH ADVISORS HOLDINGS, LLCMEMBERDomestic entityTRUE NORTH ADVISORS, LLC75% or moreCode EYesMEMBER01/2024Schedule APDF page 169
7PROJECT DELTA ACQUISITION, LLCMEMBERDomestic entityTRUE NORTH ADVISORS HOLDINGS, LLC25% to less than 50%Code CYesMEMBER01/2024Schedule BPDF page 169
8SCOTT ADAIR WOODELECTED MANAGERIndividualTRUE NORTH ADVISORS HOLDINGS, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesELECTED MANAGER01/2024Schedule BPDF page 169
9ASPIRE HOLDINGS, LLCMEMBERDomestic entityWPCG ASPIRE, LLC75% or moreCode EYesMEMBER07/2025Schedule BPDF page 169
10MARK HUNTER GEHLBACHELECTED MANAGERIndividualTRUE NORTH ADVISORS HOLDINGS, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesELECTED MANAGER01/2024Schedule BPDF page 169
11CHRISTOPHER ELLIOTT PATEELECTED MANAGERIndividualTRUE NORTH ADVISORS HOLDINGS, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesELECTED MANAGER01/2024Schedule BPDF page 169
12DHRUV MANIKTALAELECTED MANAGERIndividualTRUE NORTH ADVISORS HOLDINGS, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesELECTED MANAGER01/2024Schedule BPDF page 169
13JOHN WILLIAM COPELANDELECTED MANAGERIndividualTRUE NORTH ADVISORS HOLDINGS, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesELECTED MANAGER01/2024Schedule BPDF page 170
14WOOD FAMILY TRUSTMEMBERDomestic entityTRUE NORTH ADVISORS HOLDINGS, LLC25% to less than 50%Code CYesMEMBER01/2024Schedule BPDF page 170
15SCOTT ADAIR WOODTRUSTEEIndividualWOOD FAMILY TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE01/2024Schedule BPDF page 170
16WPCG ASPIRE HOLDINGS, LLCMEMBERDomestic entityPROJECT DELTA ACQUISITION, LLC75% or moreCode EYesMEMBER07/2025Schedule BPDF page 170
17WPCG ASPIRE, LLCMEMBERDomestic entityWPCG ASPIRE HOLDINGS, LLC75% or moreCode EYesMEMBER07/2025Schedule BPDF page 170

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 7/16/2026 10:15:47 AM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.