Firm profile

Appleton Partners, Inc..

BOSTON, MACRD 110049Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since February 10, 1987SEC # 801-29384Latest ADV March 23, 2026

Appleton Partners, Inc. is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a corporation with a primary office location in Boston, MA. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated March 23, 2026, reports $12.6B in regulatory assets under management, 59 employees, 1 office, and 7,106 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$12.6B
Employees
59
Offices
1 office
Total Clients
6,112

Associated firm names

3 names listed
  • APPLETON PARTNERS INC
  • APPLETON PARTNERS,INC.
  • APPLETON PARTNERS, INC.

Leadership

3 roles identified
CEODouglas C. Chamberlain
CCOMichael T. Howard
COORobert A. Krantz

Advisory services offered

6 types reported
Educational seminars/workshops
Financial Planning Services
Portfolio management for businesses

Fee models offered

1 types reported
Asset based fees

Offices & Contact

Primary office

BOSTON, Massachusetts, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Massachusetts

BOSTONPrimary office

1 office records listed · 1 total offices reported. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$12.6Bas of March 23, 2026
Discretionary100.0%
$12.6B
100% of total RAUM100.0%
Non-discretionary0.0%
$0
0% of total RAUM0.0%
All regulatory assets under management are discretionary.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentCLIENTS FROM THIRD-PARTY PLATFORMS AND/OR THIRD-PARTY MANAGERS THAT ARE NOT IDENTIFIED TO THE REGISTRANT. represent 86.9% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
CLIENTS FROM THIRD-PARTY PLATFORMS AND/OR THIRD-PARTY MANAGERS THAT ARE NOT IDENTIFIED TO THE REGISTRANT.
86.9%
5,314
2
HNWI
7.2%
443
3
Individuals
5.5%
339
4
Charitable
0.2%
11
5
Corporations
0.1%
4
Additional categories (<0.1%)
Government<5 clients
Categories with <5 clients
Corporations or other businesses not listed above<5 clients
State or municipal government entities (including govt. pension plans)<5 clients

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$12.6B
Total Accounts7,106
10Y AUM Change+$4.3B (+51.6%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by Appleton Partners, Inc..

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees59
Clients per Employee104:1
10Y Employee Change+14 (+31.1%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
APPLETON PARTNERS BUSINESS TRUSTDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in APPLETON PARTNERS, INC.
75%+

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Appleton Partners, Inc...

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-03-23 · Schedules A and B

8 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1MICHELE DAWN HUBLEYSVP - TREASURER & HEAD OF HRIndividualAPPLETON PARTNERS, INC.Less than 5%Code NAYesSVP - TREASURER & HEAD OF HR05/2004Schedule APDF page 21
2DOUGLAS CAMPBELL CHAMBERLAINPRESIDENT, CEO, DIRECTORIndividualAPPLETON PARTNERS, INC.Less than 5%Code NAYesPRESIDENT, CEO, DIRECTOR10/1998Schedule APDF page 21
3APPLETON PARTNERS BUSINESS TRUSTBUSINESS TRUSTDomestic entityAPPLETON PARTNERS, INC.75% or moreCode ENoBUSINESS TRUST08/2001Schedule APDF page 21
4Michael Thomas HowardSVP, CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICERIndividualAPPLETON PARTNERS, INC.Less than 5%Code NAYesSVP, CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER10/2020Schedule APDF page 21
5ROBERT ALAN KRANTZSVP - CO-COOIndividualAPPLETON PARTNERS, INC.Less than 5%Code NAYesSVP - CO-COO09/2022Schedule APDF page 21
6DOUGLAS CAMPBELL CHAMBERLAINTRUSTEE, APPLETON PARTNERS BUSINESS TRUSTIndividualAPPLETON PARTNERS BUSINESS TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE, APPLETON PARTNERS BUSINESS TRUST08/2001Schedule BPDF page 21
7MICHELE DAWN HUBLEYTRUSTEE, APPLETON PARTNERS BUSINESS TRUSTIndividualAPPLETON PARTNERS BUSINESS TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE, APPLETON PARTNERS BUSINESS TRUST06/2020Schedule BPDF page 21
8GEOFFREY DANIEL CHAMBERLAINTRUSTEE, APPLETON PARTNERS BUSINESS TRUSTIndividualAPPLETON PARTNERS BUSINESS TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FNoTRUSTEE, APPLETON PARTNERS BUSINESS TRUST08/2022Schedule BPDF page 21

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 3/23/2026 11:02:19 AM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.