Firm profile

Merit Energy Company

DALLAS, TXCRD 109310Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since June 1, 2000SEC # 801-57598Latest ADV March 18, 2026

Merit Energy Company is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a limited liability company with a primary office location in Dallas, TX. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated March 18, 2026, reports $3.7B in regulatory assets under management, 782 employees, 1 office, and 12 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$3.7B
Employees
782
Offices
1 office
Total Clients
12

Associated firm names

3 names listed
  • MERIT ENERGY CO
  • MERIT ENERGY COMPANY, LLC
  • MERIT ENERGY COMPANY

Leadership

3 roles identified
CEOTerry D. Gottberg
CCOChristopher S. Hagge
CFOAnn M. Mennel

Advisory services offered

1 types reported
Portfolio management for pooled investment vehicles

Fee models offered

2 types reported
Asset based fees
Performance-based fees

Offices & Contact

Primary office

DALLAS, Texas, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Texas

DALLASPrimary office

1 office records listed · 1 total offices reported. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$3.7Bas of March 18, 2026
Discretionary100.0%
$3.7B
100% of total RAUM100.0%
Non-discretionary0.0%
$0
0% of total RAUM0.0%
All regulatory assets under management are discretionary.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentPooled Investment Vehicles represent 100.0% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
Pooled Investment Vehicles
100.0%
12

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$3.7B
Total Accounts12
10Y AUM Change$-551M (-13.0%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by Merit Energy Company

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees782
Clients per Employee0:1
10Y Employee Change+52 (+7.1%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
THE MP MANAGEMENT TRUSTDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in MERIT ENERGY COMPANY
25% to < 50%
TERRY DEAN GOTTBERGDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in MERIT ENERGY COMPANY
10% to < 25%
BEVO PARTNERS, LPDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in MERIT ENERGY COMPANY
10% to < 25%
NAZUNI PARTNERS, LPDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in MERIT ENERGY COMPANY
10% to < 25%
GAYDEN 2002 FAMILY TRUSTDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in MERIT ENERGY COMPANY
5% to < 10%
ELIZABETH GAYDEN WILLIAMSIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in NAZUNI PARTNERS, LP
75%+
KATHERINE GAYDEN KEENANIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in BEVO PARTNERS, LP
75%+

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Merit Energy Company.

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-03-18 · Schedules A and B

15 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1TERRY DEAN GOTTBERGCHAIRMAN, PRESIDENT, CEO, ELECTED MANAGER, DIRECT OWNER/LLC MEMBERIndividualMERIT ENERGY COMPANY10% to less than 25%Code BYesCHAIRMAN, PRESIDENT, CEO, ELECTED MANAGER, DIRECT OWNER/LLC MEMBER05/2009Schedule APDF page 72
2BEVO PARTNERS, LPDIRECT OWNER/LLC MEMBERDomestic entityMERIT ENERGY COMPANY10% to less than 25%Code BNoDIRECT OWNER/LLC MEMBER01/2008Schedule APDF page 72
3NAZUNI PARTNERS, LPDIRECT OWNER/LLC MEMBERDomestic entityMERIT ENERGY COMPANY10% to less than 25%Code BNoDIRECT OWNER/LLC MEMBER01/2008Schedule APDF page 72
4GAYDEN 2002 FAMILY TRUSTDIRECT OWNER/LLC MEMBERDomestic entityMERIT ENERGY COMPANY5% to less than 10%Code ANoDIRECT OWNER/LLC MEMBER08/2022Schedule APDF page 72
5ELIZABETH GAYDEN WILLIAMSELECTED MANAGERIndividualMERIT ENERGY COMPANYLess than 5%Code NANoELECTED MANAGER01/2015Schedule APDF page 72
6KATHERINE GAYDEN KEENANELECTED MANAGERIndividualMERIT ENERGY COMPANYLess than 5%Code NANoELECTED MANAGER01/2015Schedule APDF page 72
7CHRISTOPHER SCOTT HAGGECHIEF LEGAL OFFICER, CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER, GENERAL COUNSELIndividualMERIT ENERGY COMPANYLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF LEGAL OFFICER, CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER, GENERAL COUNSEL01/2006Schedule APDF page 72
8ANN MARIE MENNELSENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERIndividualMERIT ENERGY COMPANYLess than 5%Code NAYesSENIOR VICE PRESIDENT, CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER04/2021Schedule APDF page 72
9THE MP MANAGEMENT TRUSTDIRECT OWNER/LLC MEMBERDomestic entityMERIT ENERGY COMPANY25% to less than 50%Code CNoDIRECT OWNER/LLC MEMBER12/2025Schedule APDF page 72
10ELIZABETH GAYDEN WILLIAMSLIMITED PARTNERIndividualNAZUNI PARTNERS, LP75% or moreCode ENoLIMITED PARTNER04/1992Schedule BPDF page 73
11MP MANAGEMENT TRUSTGENERAL PARTNERDomestic entityNAZUNI PARTNERS, LPPercentage not specifiedCode FYesGENERAL PARTNER04/2016Schedule BPDF page 73
12KATHERINE GAYDEN KEENANLIMITED PARTNERIndividualBEVO PARTNERS, LP75% or moreCode ENoLIMITED PARTNER04/1992Schedule BPDF page 73
13MP MANAGEMENT TRUSTGENERAL PARTNERDomestic entityBEVO PARTNERS, LPPercentage not specifiedCode FYesGENERAL PARTNER04/2016Schedule BPDF page 73
14KATHERINE GAYDEN KEENANTRUSTEEIndividualMP MANAGEMENT TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE12/2025Schedule BPDF page 73
15ELIZABETH GAYDEN WILLIAMSTRUSTEEIndividualMP MANAGEMENT TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE12/2025Schedule BPDF page 73

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 3/18/2026 11:15:49 AM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.