Firm profile

Howard Financial Services, Ltd..

DALLAS, TXCRD 107978Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since June 23, 1994SEC # 801-46741Latest ADV August 12, 2026

Howard Financial Services, Ltd. is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a limited partnership with a primary office location in Dallas, TX. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated August 12, 2026, reports $1.4B in regulatory assets under management, 24 employees, 1 office, and 1,276 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$1.4B
Employees
24
Offices
1 office
Total Clients
446

Associated firm names

5 names listed
  • HFS CAPITAL PARTNERS
  • HOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.
  • HOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, INC.
  • HFS WEALTH MANAGEMENT

Leadership

1 roles identified
CCORobert J. Post

Advisory services offered

5 types reported
Financial Planning Services
Portfolio management for businesses
Portfolio management for individuals and small businesses

Fee models offered

3 types reported
Asset based fees
Fixed fees
Hourly charges

Offices & Contact

Primary office

DALLAS, Texas, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Texas

DALLASPrimary office

1 office records listed · 1 total offices reported. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$1.4Bas of August 12, 2026
Discretionary100.0%
$1.4B
100% of total RAUM100.0%
Non-discretionary0.0%
$0
0% of total RAUM0.0%
All regulatory assets under management are discretionary.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentHNWI represent 58.1% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
HNWI
58.1%
259
2
Individuals
33.9%
151
3
Pooled Investment Vehicles
7.0%
31
4
Charitable
0.7%
3
5
Corporations
0.4%
2
Categories with <5 clients
Charitable Organizations<5 clients
Corporations or other businesses not listed above<5 clients

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$1.4B
Total Accounts1,276
10Y AUM Change+$521M (+59.1%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by Howard Financial Services, Ltd..

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees24
Clients per Employee19:1
10Y Employee Change+10 (+71.4%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
THE THOMAS 1991 IRREVOCABLE TRUST, JOHN HOWARD, TRUSTEEDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in HOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.
25% to < 50%
THE JAMES 1991 IRREVOCABLE TRUST, STEPHEN HOWARD, TRUSTEEDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in HOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.
25% to < 50%
APACHE ACQUISITIONS, LTD.Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in HOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.
10% to < 25%
LISA SMILEY P.C.Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in HOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.
10% to < 25%
FOUNTAINHEAD WEALTH, LPDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in HOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.
10% to < 25%
GV LIMESTONE, LPDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in HOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.
5% to < 10%
HOWARD FINANCIAL, INC.Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in HOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.
< 5%
JAMES N HOWARDIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in HOWARD FINANCIAL, INC.
75%+
LISA SMILEY REVOCABLE TRUSTIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in LISA SMILEY P.C.
75%+
DEREK DANIEL CHILDSIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in APACHE ACQUISITIONS, LTD.
50% to < 75%
RANDALL WYATT HORTONIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in FOUNTAINHEAD WEALTH, LP
25% to < 50%
WILLIAM LOYD GRAYIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in GV LIMESTONE, LP
25% to < 50%

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Howard Financial Services, Ltd...

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-08-12 · Schedules A and B

26 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1JAMES N HOWARDCHAIRMANIndividualHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.Less than 5%Code NAYesCHAIRMAN01/1994Schedule APDF page 131
2JOHN T HOWARDMANAGING DIRECTORIndividualHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.Less than 5%Code NAYesMANAGING DIRECTOR04/2004Schedule APDF page 131
3HOWARD FINANCIAL, INC.GENERAL PARTNERDomestic entityHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.Less than 5%Code NAYesGENERAL PARTNER04/2004Schedule APDF page 131
4THE THOMAS 1991 IRREVOCABLE TRUST, JOHN HOWARD, TRUSTEELIMITED PARTNERDomestic entityHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.25% to less than 50%Code CYesLIMITED PARTNER04/2004Schedule APDF page 131
5THE JAMES 1991 IRREVOCABLE TRUST, STEPHEN HOWARD, TRUSTEELIMITED PARTNERDomestic entityHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.25% to less than 50%Code CYesLIMITED PARTNER04/2004Schedule APDF page 131
6STEPHEN JAMES HOWARDDIRECTOR OF PRIVATE INVESTMENTSIndividualHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.Less than 5%Code NAYesDIRECTOR OF PRIVATE INVESTMENTS10/2011Schedule APDF page 131
7APACHE ACQUISITIONS, LTD.LIMITED PARTNERDomestic entityHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.10% to less than 25%Code BNoLIMITED PARTNER05/2009Schedule APDF page 131
8LISA SMILEY P.C.LIMITED PARTNERDomestic entityHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.10% to less than 25%Code BNoLIMITED PARTNER03/2001Schedule APDF page 131
9DEREK DANIEL CHILDSDIRECTOR OF WEALTH MANAGEMENTIndividualHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.Less than 5%Code NAYesDIRECTOR OF WEALTH MANAGEMENT05/2009Schedule APDF page 131
10Lisa SmileyDIRECTOR OF FUND OPERATIONSIndividualHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.Less than 5%Code NAYesDIRECTOR OF FUND OPERATIONS03/2001Schedule APDF page 131
11RANDALL WYATT HORTONDIRECTOR OF PUBLIC INVESTMENTSIndividualHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.Less than 5%Code NAYesDIRECTOR OF PUBLIC INVESTMENTS04/2013Schedule APDF page 131
12FOUNTAINHEAD WEALTH, LPLIMITED PARTNERDomestic entityHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.10% to less than 25%Code BNoLIMITED PARTNER04/2013Schedule APDF page 131
13GV LIMESTONE, LPLIMITED PARTNERDomestic entityHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.5% to less than 10%Code ANoLIMITED PARTNER01/2013Schedule APDF page 131
14ROBERT JASON POSTCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICERIndividualHOWARD FINANCIAL SERVICES, LTD.Less than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER07/2026Schedule APDF page 131
15JAMES N HOWARDSHAREHOLDERIndividualHOWARD FINANCIAL, INC.75% or moreCode EYesSHAREHOLDER04/2004Schedule BPDF page 131
16JOHN T HOWARDTRUSTEEIndividualTHE THOMAS 1991 IRREVOCABLE TRUST, JOHN HOWARD, TRUSTEEPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE04/2004Schedule BPDF page 131
17STEPHEN JAMES HOWARDTRUSTEEIndividualTHE JAMES 1991 IRREVOCABLE TRUST, STEPHEN HOWARD, TRUSTEEPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE10/2011Schedule BPDF page 132
18DEREK DANIEL CHILDSMEMBERIndividualAPACHE ACQUISITIONS, LTD.50% to less than 75%Code DYesMEMBER05/2009Schedule BPDF page 132
19LISA SMILEY REVOCABLE TRUSTSHAREHOLDERDomestic entityLISA SMILEY P.C.75% or moreCode EYesSHAREHOLDER03/2001Schedule BPDF page 132
20Lisa SmileyTRUSTEEIndividualLISA SMILEY REVOCABLE TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE03/2001Schedule BPDF page 132
21RANDALL WYATT HORTONLIMITED PARTNERIndividualFOUNTAINHEAD WEALTH, LP25% to less than 50%Code CNoLIMITED PARTNER04/2013Schedule BPDF page 132
22FOUNTAINHEAD LIMITED GP, LLCGENERAL PARTNERDomestic entityFOUNTAINHEAD WEALTH, LPPercentage not specifiedCode FYesGENERAL PARTNER04/2013Schedule BPDF page 132
23RANDALL WYATT HORTONMANAGERIndividualFOUNTAINHEAD LIMITED GP, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesMANAGER04/2013Schedule BPDF page 132
24WILLIAM LOYD GRAYLIMITED PARTNERIndividualGV LIMESTONE, LP25% to less than 50%Code CNoLIMITED PARTNER01/2013Schedule BPDF page 132
25GV WRANGLER, LLCGENERAL PARTNERDomestic entityGV LIMESTONE, LPPercentage not specifiedCode FYesGENERAL PARTNER01/2013Schedule BPDF page 132
26WILLIAM LOYD GRAYMANAGERIndividualGV WRANGLER, LLCPercentage not specifiedCode FYesMANAGER01/2013Schedule BPDF page 132

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 8/12/2026 9:38:01 AM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.