Assets under management Growth by Quarter
Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.
Private Funds
Private funds reported by Bmo Asset Management Corp.
Employee Growth by Quarter
Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.
Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.
Ownership
Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges
Reported ownership ranges
Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.
Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Bmo Asset Management Corp..
Reported ownership and control details
Form ADV · Filing date 2026-07-02 · Schedules A and B
| # | Owner / person & role | Interest in entity | Reported interest | Control person | Title / status acquired | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | BMO FINANCIAL CORP.SOLE SHAREHOLDER OF BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP.Domestic entity | BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP. | 75% or moreCode E | Yes | SOLE SHAREHOLDER OF BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP.09/1989 | Schedule APDF page 94 |
| 2 | MICHAEL ARTHUR MIRANDADIRECTORIndividual | BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP. | Less than 5%Code NA | Yes | DIRECTOR06/2026 | Schedule APDF page 94 |
| 3 | DEAN ALLAN FOLIASCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICERIndividual | BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP. | Less than 5%Code NA | Yes | CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER01/2023 | Schedule APDF page 94 |
| 4 | Patricia Beth WeitzmanDIRECTORIndividual | BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP. | Less than 5%Code NA | Yes | DIRECTOR10/2023 | Schedule APDF page 94 |
| 5 | Sean RooneyCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERIndividual | BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP. | Less than 5%Code NA | Yes | CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER11/2025 | Schedule APDF page 94 |
| 6 | THOMAS ANTHONY FONTECHAIRIndividual | BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP. | Less than 5%Code NA | Yes | CHAIR02/2026 | Schedule APDF page 94 |
| 7 | ASIM MANDHAIDIRECTOR, BUSINESS HEADIndividual | BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP. | Less than 5%Code NA | Yes | DIRECTOR, BUSINESS HEAD06/2026 | Schedule APDF page 94 |
| 8 | BANK OF MONTREALSHAREHOLDERForeign entity | BMO FINANCIAL CORP. | 75% or moreCode E | Yes | SHAREHOLDER09/1989 | Schedule BPDF page 95 |
Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.
Compliance & Disclosures
Filing dated 7/2/2026 2:13:32 PM
Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.
AFelonies2 No
In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:
- A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
- A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No
In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:
- B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
- B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions3 Yes2 No
Has the SEC or CFTC ever:
- C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
- C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?Yes
- C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
- C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?Yes
- C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?Yes
DOther regulatory actions2 Yes3 No
Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:
- D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
- D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?Yes
- D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
- D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?Yes
- D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No
Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:
- E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
- E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
- E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
- E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
- FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
- GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No
(1) Court actions
Has a domestic or foreign court:
- H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
- H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
- H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No
(2) Pending civil proceedings
- H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No
Additional DRP filings 4 source blocks
Verbatim excerpts from supporting DRP filings, which may concern the firm or advisory affiliates. Amounts retain their filed labels; no total or attribution is inferred.
regulatory · block 1PDF pages 95–97
- Regulator name — filed text
- U.S. SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
- Monetary/Fine Amount — filed text
- $ 8,250,000.00
- How was matter resolved — filed text
- Settled
Action status / disposition — filed text
PAYMENT WILL BE MADE TO AFFECTED CLIENTS OF BMO HARRIS FINANCIAL ADVISORS, INC., IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE TERMS OF THE SEC'S ORDER ISSUED ON SEPTEMBER 27, 2019, IN THE MATTER OF BMO HARRIS FINANCIAL ADVISORS, INC., AND BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP.
Other filed details
Description of allegations — filed text
ON SEPTEMBER 27, 2019, BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP. AND ITS AFFILIATE, BMO HARRIS FINANCIAL ADVISORS, INC. (BHFA) (BOTH, THE "SETTLING PARTIES") ENTERED INTO A SETTLEMENT WITH THE U.S. SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION (SEC). THE SEC ORDER MADE FINDINGS, WHICH THE SETTLING PARTIES NEITHER ADMITTED NOR DENIED, AND THE SETTLING PARTIES CONSENTED TO THE ENTRY OF THE ORDER (ORDER) FINDINGS THAT THE SETTLING PARTIES VIOLATED SECTIONS 206(2) AND 206(4) OF THE INVESTMENT ADVISERS ACT OF 1940 AND RULE 206(4)-7 THEREUNDER. THE SEC ALLEGED THAT FROM JULY 2012 THROUGH MARCH 2016, THE SETTLING PARTIES DID NOT DISCLOSE THAT THEY PREFERRED PROPRIETARY MUTUAL FUNDS FOR RETAIL INVESTORS IN A SPECIFIC INVESTMENT ADVISORY PROGRAM OFFERED BY BHFA AND ADVISED BY BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP. THE ORDER ALSO FOUND THAT BHFA BREACHED ITS DUTY OF BEST EXECUTION, AND THE SETTLING PARTIES INSUFFICIENTLY IMPLEMENTED POLICIES AND PROCEDURES REASONABLY DESIGNED TO DETECT AND PREVENT CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. THE ORDER CENSURES THE SETTLING PARTIES AND DIRECTS THEM TO CEASE-AND-DESIST FROM COMMITTING OR CAUSING ANY VIOLATIONS AND ANY FUTURE VIOLATIONS OF THE ABOVE- ENUMERATED STATUTORY PROVISIONS. ADDITIONALLY, THE ORDER REQUIRES THE SETTLING PARTIES TO PAY A TOTAL OF $37,983,542 COMPOSED OF DISGORGEMENT, PREJUDGMENT INTEREST, AND A CIVIL PENALTY, AND TO USE THOSE MONIES TO REPAY AFFECTED CLIENTS OF BHFA.
Sanction detail — filed text
CEASE AND DESIST FROM COMMITTING OR CAUSING ANY VIOLATIONS AND ANY FUTURE VIOLATIONS OF SECTIONS 206(2) AND 206(4) OF THE ADVISERS ACT AND RULE 206(4)-7 THEREUNDER. WITH AFFILIATE BMO HARRIS FINANCIAL ADVISORS, INC., JOINTLY AND SEVERALLY, DISGORGEMENT OF $25 MILLION, PREJUDGMENT INTEREST OF $4,733,542, AND A CIVIL MONETARY PENALTY TOTALING $8.25 MILLION. PAID INTO ESCROW ON OCTOBER 7, 2019.
Full extracted filing text
Includes form instructions and options. Options shown in this text do not identify which boxes were selected.
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS This Disclosure Reporting Page (DRP ADV) is an INITIAL OR AMENDED response used to report details for affirmative responses to Items 11.C., 11.D., 11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. of Form ADV. Regulatory Action Check item(s) being responded to: 11.C(1) 11.C(2) 11.C(3) 11.C(4) 11.C(5) 11.D(1) 11.D(2) 11.D(3) 11.D(4) 11.D(5) 11.E(1) 11.E(2) 11.E(3) 11.E(4) 11.F. 11.G. Use a separate DRP for each event or proceeding . The same event or proceeding may be reported for more than one person or entity using one DRP. File with a completed Execution Page. One event may result in more than one affirmative answer to Items 11.C., 11.D., 11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. Use only one DRP to report details related to the same event. If an event gives rise to actions by more than one regulator, provide details for each action on a separate DRP. PART I A. The person(s) or entity(ies) for whom this DRP is being filed is (are): You (the advisory firm) You and one or more of your advisory affiliates One or more of your advisory affiliates If this DRP is being filed for an advisory affiliate, give the full name of the advisory affiliate below (for individuals, Last name, First name, Middle name). If the advisory affiliate has a CRD number, provide that number. If not, indicate "non-registered" by checking the appropriate box. ADV DRP - ADVISORY AFFILIATE No Information Filed This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because the advisory affiliate(s) is no longer associated with the adviser. This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because: (1) the event or proceeding occurred more than ten years ago or (2) the adviser is registered or applying for registration with the SEC or reporting as an exempt reporting adviser with the SEC and the event was resolved in the adviser's or advisory affiliate's favor. If you are registered or registering with a state securities authority , you may remove a DRP for an event you reported only in response to Item 11.D(4), and only if that event occurred more than ten years ago. If you are registered or registering with the SEC, you may remove a DRP for any event listed in Item 11 that occurred more than ten years ago. This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because it was filed in error, such as due to a clerical or data-entry mistake. Explain the circumstances: B. If the advisory affiliate is registered through the IARD system or CRD system, has the advisory affiliate submitted a DRP (with Form ADV, BD or U-4) to the IARD or CRD for the event? If the answer is "Yes," no other information on this DRP must be provided. Yes No NOTE: The completion of this form does not relieve the advisory affiliate of its obligation to update its IARD or CRD records. PART II 1. Regulatory Action initiated by: SEC Other Federal State SRO Foreign (Full name of regulator, foreign financial regulatory authority, federal, state, or SRO) U.S. SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION 2. Principal Sanction: Cease and Desist Other Sanctions: 3. Date Initiated (MM/DD/YYYY): 09/27/2019 Exact Explanation If not exact, provide explanation: 4. Docket/Case Number: ADMIN. PROCEEDING FILE NO. 3-19545 5. Advisory Affiliate Employing Firm when activity occurred which led to the regulatory action (if applicable): 6. Principal Product Type: Other Other Product Types: MANAGED ACCOUNTS. 7. Describe the allegations related to this regulatory action (your response must fit within the space provided): ON SEPTEMBER 27, 2019, BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP. AND ITS AFFILIATE, BMO HARRIS FINANCIAL ADVISORS, INC. (BHFA) (BOTH, THE "SETTLING PARTIES") ENTERED INTO A SETTLEMENT WITH THE U.S. SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION (SEC). THE SEC ORDER MADE FINDINGS, WHICH THE SETTLING PARTIES NEITHER ADMITTED NOR DENIED, AND THE SETTLING PARTIES CONSENTED TO THE ENTRY OF THE ORDER (ORDER) FINDINGS THAT THE SETTLING PARTIES VIOLATED SECTIONS 206(2) AND 206(4) OF THE INVESTMENT ADVISERS ACT OF 1940 AND RULE 206(4)-7 THEREUNDER. THE SEC ALLEGED THAT FROM JULY 2012 THROUGH MARCH 2016, THE SETTLING PARTIES DID NOT DISCLOSE THAT THEY PREFERRED PROPRIETARY MUTUAL FUNDS FOR RETAIL INVESTORS IN A SPECIFIC INVESTMENT ADVISORY PROGRAM OFFERED BY BHFA AND ADVISED BY BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP. THE ORDER ALSO FOUND THAT BHFA BREACHED ITS DUTY OF BEST EXECUTION, AND THE SETTLING PARTIES INSUFFICIENTLY IMPLEMENTED POLICIES AND PROCEDURES REASONABLY DESIGNED TO DETECT AND PREVENT CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. THE ORDER CENSURES THE SETTLING PARTIES AND DIRECTS THEM TO CEASE-AND-DESIST FROM COMMITTING OR CAUSING ANY VIOLATIONS AND ANY FUTURE VIOLATIONS OF THE ABOVE- ENUMERATED STATUTORY PROVISIONS. ADDITIONALLY, THE ORDER REQUIRES THE SETTLING PARTIES TO PAY A TOTAL OF $37,983,542 COMPOSED OF DISGORGEMENT, PREJUDGMENT INTEREST, AND A CIVIL PENALTY, AND TO USE THOSE MONIES TO REPAY AFFECTED CLIENTS OF BHFA. 8. Current Status? Pending On Appeal Final 9. If on appeal, regulatory action appealed to (SEC, SRO, Federal or State Court) and Date Appeal Filed: If Final or On Appeal, complete all items below. For Pending Actions, complete Item 13 only. 10. How was matter resolved: Settled 11. Resolution Date (MM/DD/YYYY): 09/27/2019 Exact Explanation If not exact, provide explanation: 12. Resolution Detail: A. Were any of the following Sanctions Ordered (check all appropriate items)? Monetary/Fine Amount: $ 8,250,000.00 Revocation/Expulsion/Denial Disgorgement/Restitution Censure Cease and Desist/Injunction Bar Suspension B. Other Sanctions Ordered: Sanction detail: if suspended, enjoined or barred, provide duration including start date and capacities affected (General Securities Principal, Financial Operations Principal, etc.). If requalification by exam/retraining was a condition of the sanction, provide length of time given to requalify/retrain, type of exam required and whether condition has been satisfied. If disposition resulted in a fine, penalty, restitution, disgorgement or monetary compensation, provide total amount, portion levied against you or an advisory affiliate, date paid and if any portion of penalty was waived: CEASE AND DESIST FROM COMMITTING OR CAUSING ANY VIOLATIONS AND ANY FUTURE VIOLATIONS OF SECTIONS 206(2) AND 206(4) OF THE ADVISERS ACT AND RULE 206(4)-7 THEREUNDER. WITH AFFILIATE BMO HARRIS FINANCIAL ADVISORS, INC., JOINTLY AND SEVERALLY, DISGORGEMENT OF $25 MILLION, PREJUDGMENT INTEREST OF $4,733,542, AND A CIVIL MONETARY PENALTY TOTALING $8.25 MILLION. PAID INTO ESCROW ON OCTOBER 7, 2019. 13. Provide a brief summary of details related to the action status and (or) disposition and include relevant terms, conditions and dates (your response must fit within the space provided). PAYMENT WILL BE MADE TO AFFECTED CLIENTS OF BMO HARRIS FINANCIAL ADVISORS, INC., IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE TERMS OF THE SEC'S ORDER ISSUED ON SEPTEMBER 27, 2019, IN THE MATTER OF BMO HARRIS FINANCIAL ADVISORS, INC., AND BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP.
regulatory · block 2BMO HARRIS FINANCIAL ADVISORS, INC.PDF pages 97–99
- Advisory affiliate name — filed text
- BMO HARRIS FINANCIAL ADVISORS, INC.
Full extracted filing text
Includes form instructions and options. Options shown in this text do not identify which boxes were selected.
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS This Disclosure Reporting Page (DRP ADV) is an INITIAL OR AMENDED response used to report details for affirmative responses to Items 11.C., 11.D., 11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. of Form ADV. Regulatory Action Check item(s) being responded to: 11.C(1) 11.C(2) 11.C(3) 11.C(4) 11.C(5) 11.D(1) 11.D(2) 11.D(3) 11.D(4) 11.D(5) 11.E(1) 11.E(2) 11.E(3) 11.E(4) 11.F. 11.G. Use a separate DRP for each event or proceeding . The same event or proceeding may be reported for more than one person or entity using one DRP. File with a completed Execution Page. One event may result in more than one affirmative answer to Items 11.C., 11.D., 11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. Use only one DRP to report details related to the same event. If an event gives rise to actions by more than one regulator, provide details for each action on a separate DRP. PART I A. The person(s) or entity(ies) for whom this DRP is being filed is (are): You (the advisory firm) You and one or more of your advisory affiliates One or more of your advisory affiliates If this DRP is being filed for an advisory affiliate, give the full name of the advisory affiliate below (for individuals, Last name, First name, Middle name). If the advisory affiliate has a CRD number, provide that number. If not, indicate "non-registered" by checking the appropriate box. ADV DRP - ADVISORY AFFILIATE CRD Number: 137115 This advisory affiliate is a Firm an Individual Registered: Yes No Name: BMO HARRIS FINANCIAL ADVISORS, INC. (For individuals, Last, First, Middle) This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because the advisory affiliate(s) is no longer associated with the adviser. This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because: (1) the event or proceeding occurred more than ten years ago or (2) the adviser is registered or applying for registration with the SEC or reporting as an exempt reporting adviser with the SEC and the event was resolved in the adviser's or advisory affiliate's favor. If you are registered or registering with a state securities authority , you may remove a DRP for an event you reported only in response to Item 11.D(4), and only if that event occurred more than ten years ago. If you are registered or registering with the SEC, you may remove a DRP for any event listed in Item 11 that occurred more than ten years ago. This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because it was filed in error, such as due to a clerical or data-entry mistake. Explain the circumstances: B. If the advisory affiliate is registered through the IARD system or CRD system, has the advisory affiliate submitted a DRP (with Form ADV, BD or U-4) to the IARD or CRD for the event? If the answer is "Yes," no other information on this DRP must be provided. Yes No NOTE: The completion of this form does not relieve the advisory affiliate of its obligation to update its IARD or CRD records. PART II 1. Regulatory Action initiated by: SEC Other Federal State SRO Foreign (Full name of regulator, foreign financial regulatory authority, federal, state, or SRO) 2. Principal Sanction: Other Sanctions: 3. Date Initiated (MM/DD/YYYY): Exact Explanation If not exact, provide explanation: 4. Docket/Case Number: 5. Advisory Affiliate Employing Firm when activity occurred which led to the regulatory action (if applicable): 6. Principal Product Type: Other Product Types: 7. Describe the allegations related to this regulatory action (your response must fit within the space provided): 8. Current Status? Pending On Appeal Final 9. If on appeal, regulatory action appealed to (SEC, SRO, Federal or State Court) and Date Appeal Filed: If Final or On Appeal, complete all items below. For Pending Actions, complete Item 13 only. 10. How was matter resolved: 11. Resolution Date (MM/DD/YYYY): Exact Explanation If not exact, provide explanation: 12. Resolution Detail: A. Were any of the following Sanctions Ordered (check all appropriate items)? Monetary/Fine Amount: $ Revocation/Expulsion/Denial Disgorgement/Restitution Censure Cease and Desist/Injunction Bar Suspension B. Other Sanctions Ordered: Sanction detail: if suspended, enjoined or barred, provide duration including start date and capacities affected (General Securities Principal, Financial Operations Principal, etc.). If requalification by exam/retraining was a condition of the sanction, provide length of time given to requalify/retrain, type of exam required and whether condition has been satisfied. If disposition resulted in a fine, penalty, restitution, disgorgement or monetary compensation, provide total amount, portion levied against you or an advisory affiliate, date paid and if any portion of penalty was waived: 13. Provide a brief summary of details related to the action status and (or) disposition and include relevant terms, conditions and dates (your response must fit within the space provided).
regulatory · block 3BANK OF MONTREALPDF pages 99–101
- Advisory affiliate name — filed text
- BANK OF MONTREAL
- Regulator name — filed text
- CFTC - UNITED STATES COMMODITY FUTURES TRADING COMMISSION
- Monetary/Fine Amount — filed text
- $ 35,000,000.00
- How was matter resolved — filed text
- Order
Action status / disposition — filed text
ON AUGUST 8, 2023, THE U.S. COMMODITY FUTURES TRADING COMMISSION ("CFTC") ALLEGED THAT BANK OF MONTREAL ("BMO") (I) FAILED TO KEEP CERTAIN REQUIRED RECORDS IN VIOLATION OF SECTIONS 4S(F)(1)(C) AND 4S(G)(1) AND (3) OF THE COMMODITY EXCHANGE ACT ("CEA") AND CFTC REGULATIONS 23.201(A) AND 23.202(A)(1) AND (B)(1), (II) FAILED TO KEEP RECORDS IN THE MANNER REQUIRED BY CFTC REGULATION 1.31, AND (III) FAILED TO SUPERVISE ITS SWAP DEALER BUSINESS ACTIVITIES DILIGENTLY IN VIOLATION OF SECTION 4S(H)(1)(B) OF THE CEA AND CFTC REGULATION 23.602(A). BMO ADMITTED TO THE FACTS IN THE CFTC'S ORDER, ACKNOWLEDGED THAT ITS CONDUCT VIOLATED THE CEA AND CFTC REGULATIONS, AND AGREED TO (I) THE SERVICE OF THE CFTC'S ORDER; (II) CEASE AND DESIST FROM VIOLATING SECTIONS 4S(F)(1)(C), 4S(G)(1) AND (3), AND 4S(H)(1)(B) OF THE CEA AND CFTC REGULATIONS 1.31, 23.201(A), 23.202(A)(1) AND (B)(1), AND 23.602(A); (III) PAY A CIVIL MONETARYPENALTY IN THE AMOUNT OF $35,000,000; AND (IV) COMPLY WITH CERTAIN UNDERTAKINGS.
Other filed details
Description of allegations — filed text
THE U.S. COMMODITY FUTURE TRADING COMMISSION ("CFTC") ALLEGED THAT, FROM AT LEAST 2019 THROUGH THE DATE OF THE ORDER, BANK OF MONTREAL ("BMO") (I) FAILED TO KEEP CERTAIN REQUIRED RECORDS IN VIOLATION OF SECTIONS 4S(F)(1)(C) AND 4S(G)(1) AND (3) OF THE COMMODITY EXCHANGE ACT ("CEA") AND CFTC REGULATIONS 23.201(A) AND 23.202(A)(1) AND (B)(1), (II) FAILED TO KEEP RECORDS IN THE MANNER REQUIRED BY CFTC REGULATION 1.31, AND (III) FAILED TO SUPERVISE ITS SWAP DEALER BUSINESS ACTIVITIES DILIGENTLY IN VIOLATION OF SECTION 4S(H)(1)(B) OF THE CEA AND CFTC REGULATION 23.602(A).
Sanction detail — filed text
BANK OF MONTREAL ("BMO") ADMITTED TO THE FACTS IN THE CFTC'S ORDER, ACKNOWLEDGED ITS CONDUCT VIOLATED THE COMMODITY EXCHANGE ACT ("CEA") AND CFTC REGULATIONS, AND AGREED TO (I) THE ENTRY OF THE CFTC'S FINDINGS; (II) CEASE AND DESIST FROM VIOLATING SECTIONS 4S(F)(1)(C), 4S(G)(1) AND (3), AND 4S(H)(1)(B) OF THE CEA AND CFTC REGULATIONS 1.31, 23.201(A), 23.202(A)(1) AND (B)(1), AND 23.602(A); (III) PAY A CIVIL MONETARY PENALTY IN THE AMOUNT OF $35,000,000; AND (IV) COMPLY WITH CERTAIN UNDERTAKINGS.
Full extracted filing text
Includes form instructions and options. Options shown in this text do not identify which boxes were selected.
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
This Disclosure Reporting Page (DRP ADV) is an
INITIAL OR
AMENDED response used to report details for affirmative responses to Items 11.C., 11.D.,
11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. of Form ADV.
Regulatory Action
Check item(s) being responded to:
11.C(1)
11.C(2)
11.C(3)
11.C(4)
11.C(5)
11.D(1)
11.D(2)
11.D(3)
11.D(4)
11.D(5)
11.E(1)
11.E(2)
11.E(3)
11.E(4)
11.F.
11.G.
Use a separate DRP for each event or proceeding . The same event or proceeding may be reported for more than one person or entity using one DRP. File
with a completed Execution Page.
One event may result in more than one affirmative answer to Items 11.C., 11.D., 11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. Use only one DRP to report details related to the
same event. If an event gives rise to actions by more than one regulator, provide details for each action on a separate DRP.
PART I
A. The person(s) or entity(ies) for whom this DRP is being filed is (are):
You (the advisory firm)
You and one or more of your advisory affiliates
One or more of your advisory affiliates
If this DRP is being filed for an advisory affiliate, give the full name of the advisory affiliate below (for individuals, Last name, First name, Middle name).
If the advisory affiliate has a CRD number, provide that number. If not, indicate "non-registered" by checking the appropriate box.
ADV DRP - ADVISORY AFFILIATE
CRD
Number:
This advisory affiliate is
a Firm
an Individual
Registered:
Yes
No
Name:
BANK OF MONTREAL
(For individuals, Last, First,
Middle)
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because the advisory affiliate(s) is no longer associated with the adviser.
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because: (1) the event or proceeding occurred more than ten years ago or (2) the adviser is
registered or applying for registration with the SEC or reporting as an exempt reporting adviser with the SEC and the event was resolved in the
adviser's or advisory affiliate's favor.
If you are registered or registering with a state securities authority , you may remove a DRP for an event you reported only in response to Item
11.D(4), and only if that event occurred more than ten years ago. If you are registered or registering with the SEC, you may remove a DRP for any
event listed in Item 11 that occurred more than ten years ago.
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because it was filed in error, such as due to a clerical or data-entry mistake. Explain the
circumstances:
B.
If the advisory affiliate is registered through the IARD system or CRD system, has the advisory affiliate submitted a DRP (with Form ADV, BD or U-4) to
the IARD or CRD for the event? If the answer is "Yes," no other information on this DRP must be provided.
Yes
No
NOTE: The completion of this form does not relieve the advisory affiliate of its obligation to update its IARD or CRD records.
PART II
1. Regulatory Action initiated by:
SEC
Other Federal
State
SRO
Foreign
(Full name of regulator, foreign financial regulatory authority, federal, state, or SRO)
CFTC - UNITED STATES COMMODITY FUTURES TRADING COMMISSION
2.
Principal Sanction:
Civil and Administrative Penalt(ies) /Fine(s)
Other Sanctions:
3.
Date Initiated (MM/DD/YYYY):
08/01/2023
Exact
Explanation
If not exact, provide explanation:
4.
Docket/Case Number:
23-24
5.
Advisory Affiliate Employing Firm when activity occurred which led to the regulatory action (if applicable):
BANK OF MONTREAL
6.
Principal Product Type:
No Product
Other Product Types:
7.
Describe the allegations related to this regulatory action (your response must fit within the space provided):
THE U.S. COMMODITY FUTURE TRADING COMMISSION ("CFTC") ALLEGED THAT, FROM AT LEAST 2019 THROUGH THE DATE OF THE ORDER, BANK OF
MONTREAL ("BMO") (I) FAILED TO KEEP CERTAIN REQUIRED RECORDS IN VIOLATION OF SECTIONS 4S(F)(1)(C) AND 4S(G)(1) AND (3) OF THE
COMMODITY EXCHANGE ACT ("CEA") AND CFTC REGULATIONS 23.201(A) AND 23.202(A)(1) AND (B)(1), (II) FAILED TO KEEP RECORDS IN THE MANNER
REQUIRED BY CFTC REGULATION 1.31, AND (III) FAILED TO SUPERVISE ITS SWAP DEALER BUSINESS ACTIVITIES DILIGENTLY IN VIOLATION OF
SECTION 4S(H)(1)(B) OF THE CEA AND CFTC REGULATION 23.602(A).
8.
Current Status?
Pending
On Appeal
Final
9.
If on appeal, regulatory action appealed to (SEC, SRO, Federal or State Court) and Date Appeal Filed:
If Final or On Appeal, complete all items below. For Pending Actions, complete Item 13 only.
10. How was matter resolved:
Order
11. Resolution Date (MM/DD/YYYY):
08/08/2023
Exact
Explanation
If not exact, provide explanation:
12. Resolution Detail:
A. Were any of the following Sanctions Ordered (check all appropriate items)?
Monetary/Fine Amount: $ 35,000,000.00
Revocation/Expulsion/Denial
Disgorgement/Restitution
Censure
Cease and Desist/Injunction
Bar
Suspension
B.
Other Sanctions Ordered:
UNDERTAKINGS
Sanction detail: if suspended, enjoined or barred, provide duration including start date and capacities affected (General Securities Principal,
Financial Operations Principal, etc.). If requalification by exam/retraining was a condition of the sanction, provide length of time given to
requalify/retrain, type of exam required and whether condition has been satisfied. If disposition resulted in a fine, penalty, restitution,
disgorgement or monetary compensation, provide total amount, portion levied against you or an advisory affiliate, date paid and if any portion
of penalty was waived:
BANK OF MONTREAL ("BMO") ADMITTED TO THE FACTS IN THE CFTC'S ORDER, ACKNOWLEDGED ITS CONDUCT VIOLATED THE COMMODITY
EXCHANGE ACT ("CEA") AND CFTC REGULATIONS, AND AGREED TO (I) THE ENTRY OF THE CFTC'S FINDINGS; (II) CEASE AND DESIST FROM
VIOLATING SECTIONS 4S(F)(1)(C), 4S(G)(1) AND (3), AND 4S(H)(1)(B) OF THE CEA AND CFTC REGULATIONS 1.31, 23.201(A), 23.202(A)(1) AND
(B)(1), AND 23.602(A); (III) PAY A CIVIL MONETARY PENALTY IN THE AMOUNT OF $35,000,000; AND (IV) COMPLY WITH CERTAIN UNDERTAKINGS.
13. Provide a brief summary of details related to the action status and (or) disposition and include relevant terms, conditions and dates (your response
must fit within the space provided).
ON AUGUST 8, 2023, THE U.S. COMMODITY FUTURES TRADING COMMISSION ("CFTC") ALLEGED THAT BANK OF MONTREAL ("BMO") (I) FAILED TO KEEP
CERTAIN REQUIRED RECORDS IN VIOLATION OF SECTIONS 4S(F)(1)(C) AND 4S(G)(1) AND (3) OF THE COMMODITY EXCHANGE ACT ("CEA") AND CFTC
REGULATIONS 23.201(A) AND 23.202(A)(1) AND (B)(1), (II) FAILED TO KEEP RECORDS IN THE MANNER REQUIRED BY CFTC REGULATION 1.31, AND (III)
FAILED TO SUPERVISE ITS SWAP DEALER BUSINESS ACTIVITIES DILIGENTLY IN VIOLATION OF SECTION 4S(H)(1)(B) OF THE CEA AND CFTC
REGULATION 23.602(A). BMO ADMITTED TO THE FACTS IN THE CFTC'S ORDER, ACKNOWLEDGED THAT ITS CONDUCT VIOLATED THE CEA AND CFTC
REGULATIONS, AND AGREED TO (I) THE SERVICE OF THE CFTC'S ORDER; (II) CEASE AND DESIST FROM VIOLATING SECTIONS 4S(F)(1)(C), 4S(G)(1) AND
(3), AND 4S(H)(1)(B) OF THE CEA AND CFTC REGULATIONS 1.31, 23.201(A), 23.202(A)(1) AND (B)(1), AND 23.602(A); (III) PAY A CIVIL
MONETARYPENALTY IN THE AMOUNT OF $35,000,000; AND (IV) COMPLY WITH CERTAIN UNDERTAKINGS.regulatory · block 4PDF pages 101–103
- Regulator name — filed text
- FINANCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION OF THE REPUBLIC OF KOREA ("FSC")
- Monetary/Fine Amount — filed text
- $ 18,073.00
- How was matter resolved — filed text
- Order
Action status / disposition — filed text
ON WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 20, 2021, BAMC PLACED A SELL ORDER OF 1,984 SHARES OF NHN KCP, ERRONEOUSLY BELIEVING THAT IT HAD HELD MORE SHARES THAN THE SELL ORDER AMOUNT DUE TO A MISTAKEN BELIEF THAT 134 SHARES THAT WERE EXPECTED TO BE RECEIVED AS STOCK DIVIDENDS WERE PART OF BAMC'S INVENTORY. BAMC BECAME AWARE OF THE SHORTAGE OF SHARES ON THURSDAY, JANUARY 21, 2021 (T+1). ON FRIDAY, JANUARY 22, 2021 (T+2), BAMC RESOLVED THIS SHORTAGE BY PURCHASING THE 56 SHARES IT WAS SHORT TO SETTLE THE ORIGINAL TRADE. BAMC EXECUTED THE PURCHASE ORDER ON MONDAY, JANUARY 25, 2021 (T+3). THE ORIGINAL TRADE WAS ULTIMATELY SETTLED ON WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 27, 2021 (T+5).
Other filed details
Description of allegations — filed text
ON APRIL 19, 2024, THE FSS NOTIFIED BAMC THAT IT WAS INVESTIGATING BAMC PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 21(1) OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT AND ARTICLE 36(1) OF THE REGULATIONS ON INVESTIGATION OF CAPITAL MARKETS (THE "FSCMA"). THE FSS ALLEGED THAT BAMC VIOLATED THE KOREAN SHORT SALE REGULATIONS WHEN BAMC PLACED A SELL ORDER FOR 1,984 SHARES OF NHN KCP CORP. ("NHN KCP")'S COMMON STOCK ON JANUARY 20, 2021, WHICH BAMC ERRONEOUSLY BELIEVED INCLUDED 134 SHARES THAT WERE EXPECTED TO BE RECEIVED AS STOCK DIVIDENDS, WHEN BAMC HELD ONLY 1,928 SHARES. BAMC BECAME AWARE OF THE SHORTAGE OF 56 SHARES (ORDER AMOUNT OF KRW 3,724,000) THE NEXT DAY (THURSDAY, JANUARY 21, 2021; T+1). ON JANUARY 22, 2021 (T+2), BAMC RESOLVED THIS SHORTAGE BY PURCHASING THE 56 SHARES IT WAS SHORT TO SETTLE THE ORIGINAL TRADE. BAMC EXECUTED THE PURCHASE ORDER ON MONDAY, JANUARY 25, 2021 (T+3). THE ORIGINAL TRADE WAS ULTIMATELY SETTLED ON JANUARY 27, 2021 (T+5). BAMC WAS SUBSEQUENTLY NOTIFIED ON JULY 17, 2024 OF THE IMPOSITION OF AN ADMINISTRATIVE FINE OF KRW 30,000,000, WHICH WAS REDUCED TO KRW 24,000,000 UPON TIMELY PAYMENT OF THIS FINE. THE FINE WAS PAID ON AUGUST 20, 2024.
Sanction detail — filed text
BAMC PAID THIS FINE ON AUGUST 20, 2024.
Full extracted filing text
Includes form instructions and options. Options shown in this text do not identify which boxes were selected.
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
This Disclosure Reporting Page (DRP ADV) is an
INITIAL OR
AMENDED response used to report details for affirmative responses to Items 11.C., 11.D.,
11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. of Form ADV.
Regulatory Action
Check item(s) being responded to:
11.C(1)
11.C(2)
11.C(3)
11.C(4)
11.C(5)
11.D(1)
11.D(2)
11.D(3)
11.D(4)
11.D(5)
11.E(1)
11.E(2)
11.E(3)
11.E(4)
11.F.
11.G.
Use a separate DRP for each event or proceeding . The same event or proceeding may be reported for more than one person or entity using one DRP. File
with a completed Execution Page.
One event may result in more than one affirmative answer to Items 11.C., 11.D., 11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. Use only one DRP to report details related to the
same event. If an event gives rise to actions by more than one regulator, provide details for each action on a separate DRP.
PART I
A. The person(s) or entity(ies) for whom this DRP is being filed is (are):
You (the advisory firm)
You and one or more of your advisory affiliates
One or more of your advisory affiliates
If this DRP is being filed for an advisory affiliate, give the full name of the advisory affiliate below (for individuals, Last name, First name, Middle name).
If the advisory affiliate has a CRD number, provide that number. If not, indicate "non-registered" by checking the appropriate box.
ADV DRP - ADVISORY AFFILIATE
No Information Filed
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because the advisory affiliate(s) is no longer associated with the adviser.
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because: (1) the event or proceeding occurred more than ten years ago or (2) the adviser is
registered or applying for registration with the SEC or reporting as an exempt reporting adviser with the SEC and the event was resolved in the
adviser's or advisory affiliate's favor.
If you are registered or registering with a state securities authority , you may remove a DRP for an event you reported only in response to Item
11.D(4), and only if that event occurred more than ten years ago. If you are registered or registering with the SEC, you may remove a DRP for any
event listed in Item 11 that occurred more than ten years ago.
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because it was filed in error, such as due to a clerical or data-entry mistake. Explain the
circumstances:
B.
If the advisory affiliate is registered through the IARD system or CRD system, has the advisory affiliate submitted a DRP (with Form ADV, BD or U-4) to
the IARD or CRD for the event? If the answer is "Yes," no other information on this DRP must be provided.
Yes
No
NOTE: The completion of this form does not relieve the advisory affiliate of its obligation to update its IARD or CRD records.
PART II
1. Regulatory Action initiated by:
SEC
Other Federal
State
SRO
Foreign
(Full name of regulator, foreign financial regulatory authority, federal, state, or SRO)
FINANCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION OF THE REPUBLIC OF KOREA ("FSC")
2.
Principal Sanction:
Civil and Administrative Penalt(ies) /Fine(s)
Other Sanctions:
THE SECURITIES AND FUTURES COMMITTEE ("SFC"), A SUB-COMMITTEE OF THE FSC, NOTIFIED BMO ASSET MANAGEMENT CORP. ("BAMC") FOLLOWING
THE SFC'S 14TH MEETING HELD ON JULY 17, 2024, OF THE IMPOSITION OF AN ADMINISTRATIVE FINE OF SOUTH KOREAN WON ("KRW") 30,000,000,
REDUCED TO KRW 24,000,000 UPON TIMELY PAYMENT, BASED ON A SHORT-SELLING SPECIAL INVESTIGATION BY THE OFFICE OF THE SUPERVISORY
SERVICE ("FSS").
3.
Date Initiated (MM/DD/YYYY):
07/17/2024
Exact
Explanation
If not exact, provide explanation:
4.
Docket/Case Number:
NOT APPLICABLE
5.
Advisory Affiliate Employing Firm when activity occurred which led to the regulatory action (if applicable):
6.
Principal Product Type:
Equity Listed (Common & Preferred Stock)
Other Product Types:
KOREAN COMMON STOCK
7.
Describe the allegations related to this regulatory action (your response must fit within the space provided):
ON APRIL 19, 2024, THE FSS NOTIFIED BAMC THAT IT WAS INVESTIGATING BAMC PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 21(1) OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES
ACT AND ARTICLE 36(1) OF THE REGULATIONS ON INVESTIGATION OF CAPITAL MARKETS (THE "FSCMA"). THE FSS ALLEGED THAT BAMC VIOLATED THE
KOREAN SHORT SALE REGULATIONS WHEN BAMC PLACED A SELL ORDER FOR 1,984 SHARES OF NHN KCP CORP. ("NHN KCP")'S COMMON STOCK ON
JANUARY 20, 2021, WHICH BAMC ERRONEOUSLY BELIEVED INCLUDED 134 SHARES THAT WERE EXPECTED TO BE RECEIVED AS STOCK DIVIDENDS,
WHEN BAMC HELD ONLY 1,928 SHARES. BAMC BECAME AWARE OF THE SHORTAGE OF 56 SHARES (ORDER AMOUNT OF KRW 3,724,000) THE NEXT DAY
(THURSDAY, JANUARY 21, 2021; T+1). ON JANUARY 22, 2021 (T+2), BAMC RESOLVED THIS SHORTAGE BY PURCHASING THE 56 SHARES IT WAS SHORT
TO SETTLE THE ORIGINAL TRADE. BAMC EXECUTED THE PURCHASE ORDER ON MONDAY, JANUARY 25, 2021 (T+3). THE ORIGINAL TRADE WAS
ULTIMATELY SETTLED ON JANUARY 27, 2021 (T+5). BAMC WAS SUBSEQUENTLY NOTIFIED ON JULY 17, 2024 OF THE IMPOSITION OF AN
ADMINISTRATIVE FINE OF KRW 30,000,000, WHICH WAS REDUCED TO KRW 24,000,000 UPON TIMELY PAYMENT OF THIS FINE. THE FINE WAS PAID ON
AUGUST 20, 2024.
8.
Current Status?
Pending
On Appeal
Final
9.
If on appeal, regulatory action appealed to (SEC, SRO, Federal or State Court) and Date Appeal Filed:
If Final or On Appeal, complete all items below. For Pending Actions, complete Item 13 only.
10. How was matter resolved:
Order
11. Resolution Date (MM/DD/YYYY):
08/20/2024
Exact
Explanation
If not exact, provide explanation:
12. Resolution Detail:
A. Were any of the following Sanctions Ordered (check all appropriate items)?
Monetary/Fine Amount: $ 18,073.00
Revocation/Expulsion/Denial
Disgorgement/Restitution
Censure
Cease and Desist/Injunction
Bar
Suspension
B.
Other Sanctions Ordered:
Sanction detail: if suspended, enjoined or barred, provide duration including start date and capacities affected (General Securities Principal,
Financial Operations Principal, etc.). If requalification by exam/retraining was a condition of the sanction, provide length of time given to
requalify/retrain, type of exam required and whether condition has been satisfied. If disposition resulted in a fine, penalty, restitution,
disgorgement or monetary compensation, provide total amount, portion levied against you or an advisory affiliate, date paid and if any portion
of penalty was waived:
BAMC PAID THIS FINE ON AUGUST 20, 2024.
13. Provide a brief summary of details related to the action status and (or) disposition and include relevant terms, conditions and dates (your response
must fit within the space provided).
ON WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 20, 2021, BAMC PLACED A SELL ORDER OF 1,984 SHARES OF NHN KCP, ERRONEOUSLY BELIEVING THAT IT HAD HELD MORE
SHARES THAN THE SELL ORDER AMOUNT DUE TO A MISTAKEN BELIEF THAT 134 SHARES THAT WERE EXPECTED TO BE RECEIVED AS STOCK DIVIDENDS
WERE PART OF BAMC'S INVENTORY. BAMC BECAME AWARE OF THE SHORTAGE OF SHARES ON THURSDAY, JANUARY 21, 2021 (T+1). ON FRIDAY,
JANUARY 22, 2021 (T+2), BAMC RESOLVED THIS SHORTAGE BY PURCHASING THE 56 SHARES IT WAS SHORT TO SETTLE THE ORIGINAL TRADE. BAMC
EXECUTED THE PURCHASE ORDER ON MONDAY, JANUARY 25, 2021 (T+3). THE ORIGINAL TRADE WAS ULTIMATELY SETTLED ON WEDNESDAY, JANUARY
27, 2021 (T+5).* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.