Firm profile

Income Research + Management

BOSTON, MACRD 104863Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since May 1, 1987SEC # 801-29482Latest ADV August 24, 2026

Income Research + Management is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a corporation with a primary office location in Boston, MA. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated August 24, 2026, reports $130.7B in regulatory assets under management, 218 employees, 1 office, and 1,559 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$130.7B
Employees
218
Offices
1 office
Total Clients
937

Associated firm names

3 names listed
  • INCOME RESEARCH & MANAGEMENT
  • INCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENT
  • INCOME RESEARCH & MANAGEMENT INC

Leadership

6 roles identified
CEOWilliam A. O'malley
CCORichard M. Kizik
CFOMeghan K. Driscoll

Advisory services offered

4 types reported
Portfolio management for businesses
Portfolio management for individuals and small businesses
Portfolio management for investment companies

Fee models offered

1 types reported
Asset based fees

Offices & Contact

Primary office

BOSTON, Massachusetts, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Massachusetts

BOSTONPrimary office

1 office records listed · 1 total offices reported. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$130.7Bas of August 24, 2026
Discretionary99.6%
$130.1B
100% of total RAUM99.6%
Non-discretionary0.4%
$539M
0% of total RAUM0.4%
Regulatory assets under management are split between discretionary and non-discretionary assets.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentHNWI represent 48.5% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
HNWI
48.5%
454
2
Charitable
17.6%
165
3
Pension Plans
12.6%
118
4
Insurance Cos.
9.8%
92
5
Government
4.7%
44
Categories with <5 clients
Banking or thrift institutions<5 clients

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$130.7B
Total Accounts1,559
10Y AUM Change+$69.1B (+112.1%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by Income Research + Management

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees218
Clients per Employee4:1
10Y Employee Change+52 (+31.3%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
JOHN A. SOMMERS, JR. REVOCABLE TRUST OF 1995Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in INCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENT
25% to < 50%
WILLIAM AUSTIN O'MALLEYDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in INCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENT
10% to < 25%
JOHN A. SOMMERS REVOCABLE TRUST OF 2020Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in INCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENT
5% to < 10%
JOHN A. SOMMERS, JR. FAMILY TRUST DTD 07/31/2006Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in INCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENT
< 5%
ROBERT F. SOMMERS FAMILY TRUST DTD 07/31/2006Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in INCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENT
< 5%
KENNETH T. SOMMERS FAMILY TRUST DTD 07/31/2006Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in INCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENT
< 5%
ROBERT F. SOMMERS REVOCABLE TRUST OF 1995Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in INCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENT
< 5%
KENNETH T. SOMMERS REVOCABLE TRUST OF 1995Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in INCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENT
< 5%

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Income Research + Management.

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-08-24 · Schedules A and B

30 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1JOHN ANTHONY SOMMERS JR.EXECUTIVE CHAIR, DIRECTORIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesEXECUTIVE CHAIR, DIRECTOR01/2020Schedule APDF page 80
2JOHN A. SOMMERS, JR. REVOCABLE TRUST OF 1995OWNERDomestic entityINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENT25% to less than 50%Code CYesOWNER06/1995Schedule APDF page 80
3RICHARD MARK KIZIKCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICERIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER03/2005Schedule APDF page 80
4JOHN A. SOMMERS, JR. FAMILY TRUST DTD 07/31/2006OWNERDomestic entityINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesOWNER08/2011Schedule APDF page 80
5ROBERT F. SOMMERS FAMILY TRUST DTD 07/31/2006OWNERDomestic entityINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NANoOWNER08/2011Schedule APDF page 80
6KENNETH T. SOMMERS FAMILY TRUST DTD 07/31/2006OWNERDomestic entityINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NANoOWNER08/2011Schedule APDF page 80
7ROBERT F. SOMMERS REVOCABLE TRUST OF 1995OWNERDomestic entityINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NANoOWNER06/2006Schedule APDF page 80
8KENNETH T. SOMMERS REVOCABLE TRUST OF 1995OWNERDomestic entityINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NANoOWNER06/2006Schedule APDF page 80
9MATTHEW JOHN CANNATAGENERAL COUNSEL, SECRETARYIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesGENERAL COUNSEL, SECRETARY01/2019Schedule APDF page 81
10JAMES EDWARD GUBITOSICO-CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICERIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesCO-CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICER07/2015Schedule APDF page 81
11SARAH MULLER KILPATRICKCHIEF OF STAFFIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF OF STAFF01/2022Schedule APDF page 81
12MASSIMO ANTONIO DESANTISSENIOR PORTFOLIO MANAGER, CO- DIRECTOR OF PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENTIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesSENIOR PORTFOLIO MANAGER, CO- DIRECTOR OF PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT10/2025Schedule APDF page 81
13MEGHAN KELLY DRISCOLLCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, CO- HEAD OF CLIENT TEAMIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, CO- HEAD OF CLIENT TEAM01/2020Schedule APDF page 81
14DUNE DELAFIELD THORNEDIRECTORIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesDIRECTOR01/2024Schedule APDF page 81
15ELIZABETH GENUNG TAYLORDIRECTORIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesDIRECTOR01/2024Schedule APDF page 81
16DEBORAH HELLER GOLDSTEINDIRECTORIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesDIRECTOR01/2024Schedule APDF page 81
17WILLIAM THEODORE LAWRENCEDIRECTORIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesDIRECTOR01/2024Schedule APDF page 81
18ERINN RACHELLE KINGPRESIDENTIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesPRESIDENT06/2026Schedule APDF page 81
19MICHAEL ANTHONY MILESDIRECTORIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesDIRECTOR01/2024Schedule APDF page 81
20WILLIAM AUSTIN O'MALLEYCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER, DIRECTORIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENT10% to less than 25%Code BYesCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER, DIRECTOR03/2025Schedule APDF page 81
21MICHAEL ANTHONY SHELDONCO-CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICERIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesCO-CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICER03/2025Schedule APDF page 81
22WILLIAM MAURICE O'NEILLSENIOR PORTFOLIO MANAGER, CO- DIRECTOR OF PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENTIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesSENIOR PORTFOLIO MANAGER, CO- DIRECTOR OF PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT10/2025Schedule APDF page 81
23JOHN A. SOMMERS REVOCABLE TRUST OF 2020OWNERDomestic entityINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENT5% to less than 10%Code AYesOWNER01/2025Schedule APDF page 81
24MARK WILLIAM D'ALFONSOCHIEF OPERATING OFFICERIndividualINCOME RESEARCH + MANAGEMENTLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF OPERATING OFFICER10/2025Schedule APDF page 81
25JOHN ANTHONY SOMMERS JR.TRUSTEEIndividualJOHN A. SOMMERS, JR. FAMILY TRUST DTD 07/31/2006Percentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE08/2011Schedule BPDF page 81
26ROBERT FRANKLYN SOMMERSTRUSTEEIndividualROBERT F. SOMMERS REVOCABLE TRUST OF 1995Percentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE12/2006Schedule BPDF page 81
27ROBERT FRANKLYN SOMMERSTRUSTEEIndividualROBERT F. SOMMERS FAMILY TRUST DTD 07/31/2006Percentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE08/2011Schedule BPDF page 81
28JOHN ANTHONY SOMMERS JR.TRUSTEEIndividualJOHN A. SOMMERS, JR. REVOCABLE TRUST OF 1995Percentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE06/1995Schedule BPDF page 81
29KENNETH THOMAS SOMMERSTRUSTEEIndividualKENNETH T. SOMMERS FAMILY TRUST DTD 07/31/2006Percentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE08/2011Schedule BPDF page 82
30KENNETH THOMAS SOMMERSTRUSTEEIndividualKENNETH T. SOMMERS REVOCABLE TRUST OF 1995Percentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE12/2006Schedule BPDF page 82

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 8/24/2026 11:25:12 AM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.