Firm profile

Canopy Capital Group

WOBURN, MACRD 326730Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since July 28, 2025SEC # 801-133980Latest ADV March 28, 2026

Canopy Capital Group is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a corporation with a primary office location in Woburn, MA. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated March 28, 2026, reports $1.3B in regulatory assets under management, 11 employees, 1 office, and 285 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$1.3B
Employees
11
Offices
1 office
Total Clients
9

Associated firm names

3 names listed
  • CANOPY
  • GOLDENX COMPANY
  • CANOPY CAPITAL GROUP

Leadership

3 roles identified
CEOEric J. Golden
CCOMatthew S. Villa
COORamzi N. Faris

Advisory services offered

1 types reported
Other advisory services

Fee models offered

1 types reported
Asset based fees

Offices & Contact

Primary office

WOBURN, Massachusetts, United States

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Massachusetts

WOBURNPrimary office

1 office records listed · 1 total offices reported. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$1.3Bas of March 28, 2026
Discretionary100.0%
$1.3B
100% of total RAUM100.0%
Non-discretionary0.0%
$0
0% of total RAUM0.0%
All regulatory assets under management are discretionary.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentOther Advisers represent 100.0% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
Other Advisers
100.0%
9

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$1.3B
Total Accounts285
10Y AUM Change+$1.3B

Private Funds

Private funds reported by Canopy Capital Group

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees11
Clients per Employee1:1
10Y Employee Change+7 (+175.0%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
ERIC JASON GOLDENDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in CANOPY CAPITAL GROUP
50% to < 75%
POSITIVE SUM CAPITAL LPDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in CANOPY CAPITAL GROUP
10% to < 25%
POSITIVE SUM CAPITAL II - QP LPDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in CANOPY CAPITAL GROUP
10% to < 25%
PATRICK WALKER O'SHAUGHNESSYIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in POSITIVE SUM ADVISORS LLC
75%+
GREY STREET VENTURES LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in POSITIVE SUM CAPITAL LP
25% to < 50%
GREY STREET VENTURES III LLCIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in POSITIVE SUM CAPITAL II - QP LP
25% to < 50%
THE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITYIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in POSITIVE SUM CAPITAL II - QP LP
25% to < 50%

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Canopy Capital Group.

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-03-28 · Schedules A and B

11 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1ERIC JASON GOLDENCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERIndividualCANOPY CAPITAL GROUP50% to less than 75%Code DYesCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER04/2022Schedule APDF page 18
2POSITIVE SUM CAPITAL LPSHAREHOLDERDomestic entityCANOPY CAPITAL GROUP10% to less than 25%Code BNoSHAREHOLDER08/2022Schedule APDF page 19
3RAMZI NMN FARISCHIEF OPERATING OFFICERIndividualCANOPY CAPITAL GROUPLess than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF OPERATING OFFICER11/2024Schedule APDF page 19
4POSITIVE SUM CAPITAL II - QP LPSHAREHOLDERDomestic entityCANOPY CAPITAL GROUP10% to less than 25%Code BNoSHAREHOLDER09/2024Schedule APDF page 19
5MATTHEW STEVEN VILLACHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICERIndividualCANOPY CAPITAL GROUPLess than 5%Code NANoCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER03/2026Schedule APDF page 19
6POSITIVE SUM ADVISORS LLCGENERAL PARTNERDomestic entityPOSITIVE SUM CAPITAL LPPercentage not specifiedCode FYesGENERAL PARTNER10/2020Schedule BPDF page 19
7GREY STREET VENTURES LLCLIMITED PARTNERDomestic entityPOSITIVE SUM CAPITAL LP25% to less than 50%Code CYesLIMITED PARTNER10/2020Schedule BPDF page 19
8PATRICK WALKER O'SHAUGHNESSYMEMBERIndividualPOSITIVE SUM ADVISORS LLC75% or moreCode EYesMEMBER07/2002Schedule BPDF page 19
9POSITIVE SUM ADVISORS LLCGENERAL PARTNERDomestic entityPOSITIVE SUM CAPITAL II - QP LPPercentage not specifiedCode FYesGENERAL PARTNER05/2022Schedule BPDF page 19
10GREY STREET VENTURES III LLCLIMITED PARTNERDomestic entityPOSITIVE SUM CAPITAL II - QP LP25% to less than 50%Code CYesLIMITED PARTNER05/2022Schedule BPDF page 19
11THE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITYGENERAL PARTNERDomestic entityPOSITIVE SUM CAPITAL II - QP LP25% to less than 50%Code CYesGENERAL PARTNER05/2022Schedule BPDF page 19

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 3/28/2026 4:35:46 PM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions5 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?No
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.