Firm profile

Black Creek Investment Management Inc..

TORONTO, CanadaCRD 161344Registration Status: ApprovedEffective since March 14, 2012SEC # 801-74333Latest ADV January 2, 2026

Black Creek Investment Management Inc. is an SEC registered investment adviser organized as a corporation with a primary office location in Toronto, Canada. Its latest Form ADV filing, dated January 2, 2026, reports $7.1B in regulatory assets under management, 28 employees, 1 office, and 27 accounts.

Assets Under Management
$7.1B
Employees
28
Offices
1 office
Total Clients
27

Associated firm names

1 name listed
  • BLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.

Leadership

2 roles identified
CCOMiriam E. Lee
COOJeffrey S. Israel

Advisory services offered

3 types reported
Portfolio management for businesses
Portfolio management for pooled investment vehicles
Publication of periodicals or newsletters

Fee models offered

2 types reported
Asset based fees
Performance-based fees

Offices & Contact

Primary office

TORONTO, Canada

Loading map…

Primary office regionOther reported regions

Shading shows states and countries with reported offices. Cities are listed below; shading does not indicate service coverage.

Canada

TORONTOPrimary office

1 office records listed · 1 total offices reported. Counts can use different reporting dates. SEC filers may list only their largest 25 additional offices.

Contact and digital presence

ADV profile links

Regulatory Assets Under Management Breakdown

Total regulatory assets under management$7.1Bas of January 2, 2026
Discretionary99.0%
$7.0B
99% of total RAUM99.0%
Non-discretionary1.0%
$71M
1% of total RAUM1.0%
Regulatory assets under management are split between discretionary and non-discretionary assets.

Client Coverage Demographics

Top client segmentPooled Investment Vehicles represent 59.3% of total clients.
Top client categories% of clientsClients
1
Pooled Investment Vehicles
59.3%
16
2
Pension Plans
18.5%
5
3
Charitable
14.8%
4
4
Government
3.7%
1
5
Corporations
3.7%
1
Categories with <5 clients
Charitable Organizations<5 clients
Corporations or other businesses not listed above<5 clients
State or municipal government entities (including govt. pension plans)<5 clients

Assets under management Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total AUM$7.1B
Total Accounts27
10Y AUM Change+$1.9B (+37.2%)

Private Funds

Private funds reported by Black Creek Investment Management Inc..

Loading private fund disclosures…

Employee Growth by Quarter

Quarterly points use the latest ADV filing or SEC roster snapshot available in each quarter.

Total Employees28
Clients per Employee1:1
10Y Employee Change+11 (+64.7%)

Historical AUM and employee figures reflect available SEC Form ADV filings under this CRD. Filing gaps may reflect registration status changes, dormant periods, state registration periods, firm restructuring, or other reporting changes. Rialytix does not interpolate missing periods.


Ownership

Reported direct and indirect ownership ranges

Each range applies to a separate reported relationship and should not be added together.

Reported ownership ranges

Highlighted bands show the percentage range reported in Form ADV.

0%25%50%75%100%
SATTEL INVESTMENTS LIMITEDDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in BLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.
25% to < 50%
KAKABEKA HOLDINGS INC.Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in BLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.
10% to < 25%
HP-BLUESKIES HOLDINGS INC.Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in BLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.
10% to < 25%
AMVIRENCE INC.Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in BLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.
5% to < 10%
CULZEAN INTERNATIONAL INC.Direct owner · Schedule AInterest in BLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.
5% to < 10%
RICHARD LYLE JENKINSDirect owner · Schedule AInterest in BLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.
< 5%
WILLIAM DAVID KANKODirect owner · Schedule AInterest in BLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.
< 5%
KANKO FAMILY TRUSTIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in KAKABEKA HOLDINGS INC.
75%+
JENKINS FAMILY TRUSTIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in SATTEL INVESTMENTS LIMITED
75%+
Zhongyi HuangIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in AMVIRENCE INC.
75%+
Heather PeirceIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in HP-BLUESKIES HOLDINGS INC.
75%+
RICHARD LYLE JENKINSIndirect owner · Schedule BInterest in CULZEAN INTERNATIONAL INC.
75%+

Bars represent the reported range at that individual ownership step, not an estimated percentage of the advisory firm. Indirect relationships may refer to intermediate entities rather than directly to Black Creek Investment Management Inc...

Reported ownership and control details

Form ADV · Filing date 2026-01-02 · Schedules A and B

20 entries
#Owner / person & roleInterest in entityReported interestControl personTitle / status acquiredSource
1RICHARD LYLE JENKINSCHAIRMAN AND MANAGING DIRECTOR; TRUSTEE, JENKINS FAMILY TRUST, CULZEAN HOLDINGS INC.IndividualBLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.Less than 5%Code NAYesCHAIRMAN AND MANAGING DIRECTOR; TRUSTEE, JENKINS FAMILY TRUST, CULZEAN HOLDINGS INC.12/2008Schedule APDF page 25
2WILLIAM DAVID KANKOMANAGING DIRECTOR; TRUSTEE, KANKO FAMILY TRUSTIndividualBLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.Less than 5%Code NAYesMANAGING DIRECTOR; TRUSTEE, KANKO FAMILY TRUST12/2008Schedule APDF page 25
3KAKABEKA HOLDINGS INC.SHAREHOLDERForeign entityBLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.10% to less than 25%Code BYesSHAREHOLDER05/2013Schedule APDF page 25
4SATTEL INVESTMENTS LIMITEDSHAREHOLDERForeign entityBLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.25% to less than 50%Code CYesSHAREHOLDER05/2013Schedule APDF page 25
5MIRIAM EUN-JOO LEECHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICERIndividualBLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.Less than 5%Code NAYesCHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER10/2013Schedule APDF page 25
6AMVIRENCE INC.SHAREHOLDERForeign entityBLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.5% to less than 10%Code ANoSHAREHOLDER01/2014Schedule APDF page 25
7HP-BLUESKIES HOLDINGS INC.SHAREHOLDERForeign entityBLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.10% to less than 25%Code BNoSHAREHOLDER05/2016Schedule APDF page 25
8Jeffrey Scott IsraelPRESIDENT, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER AND MANAGING DIRECTORIndividualBLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.Less than 5%Code NAYesPRESIDENT, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER AND MANAGING DIRECTOR09/2021Schedule APDF page 25
9Heather PeirceMANAGING DIRECTORIndividualBLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.Less than 5%Code NAYesMANAGING DIRECTOR09/2021Schedule APDF page 25
10CULZEAN INTERNATIONAL INC.SHAREHOLDERForeign entityBLACK CREEK INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT INC.5% to less than 10%Code ANoSHAREHOLDER04/2024Schedule APDF page 25
11WILLIAM DAVID KANKOTRUSTEEIndividualKANKO FAMILY TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE12/2008Schedule BPDF page 26
12SUSAN HARRISONTRUSTEEIndividualKANKO FAMILY TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE12/2008Schedule BPDF page 26
13BRIAN QUINLANTRUSTEEIndividualKANKO FAMILY TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE12/2008Schedule BPDF page 26
14RICHARD LYLE JENKINSTRUSTEEIndividualJENKINS FAMILY TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE12/2008Schedule BPDF page 26
15LORELEI JENKINSTRUSTEEIndividualJENKINS FAMILY TRUSTPercentage not specifiedCode FYesTRUSTEE12/2008Schedule BPDF page 26
16KANKO FAMILY TRUSTSHAREHOLDERForeign entityKAKABEKA HOLDINGS INC.75% or moreCode EYesSHAREHOLDER05/2013Schedule BPDF page 26
17JENKINS FAMILY TRUSTSHAREHOLDERForeign entitySATTEL INVESTMENTS LIMITED75% or moreCode EYesSHAREHOLDER05/2013Schedule BPDF page 26
18Zhongyi HuangSHAREHOLDERIndividualAMVIRENCE INC.75% or moreCode EYesSHAREHOLDER01/2014Schedule BPDF page 26
19Heather PeirceSHAREHOLDERIndividualHP-BLUESKIES HOLDINGS INC.75% or moreCode EYesSHAREHOLDER05/2016Schedule BPDF page 26
20RICHARD LYLE JENKINSSHAREHOLDERIndividualCULZEAN INTERNATIONAL INC.75% or moreCode EYesSHAREHOLDER04/2024Schedule BPDF page 26

Less than 5% may include zero. Code F identifies a role without specifying a percentage. Reported interests may overlap and may not include every owner. Total indirect ownership is not calculated.

Compliance & Disclosures

Filing dated 1/2/2026 11:12:04 AM

Responses were selected by the RIA in its filing. Questions are shortened for readability; “you” refers to the reporting firm, and some questions also cover advisory affiliates.

RIA or supervised-person involvementThe RIA reported that none of the events below involve the firm or its supervised persons.RIA responseNo
AFelonies2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • A1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony?No
  • A2Been charged with a felony?No
BMisdemeanors2 No

In the past ten years, have you or any advisory affiliate:

  • B1Been convicted of or pleaded guilty or no contest to a misdemeanor involving investments, an investment-related business, fraud, false statements or omissions, wrongful taking of property, bribery, perjury, forgery, counterfeiting, or extortion?No
  • B2Been charged with a misdemeanor of the kind listed above?No
CSEC or CFTC actions5 No

Has the SEC or CFTC ever:

  • C1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • C2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated SEC or CFTC regulations or statutes?No
  • C3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • C4Entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • C5Imposed a civil money penalty on you or an advisory affiliate, or ordered you or an advisory affiliate to cease and desist from any activity?No
DOther regulatory actions1 Yes4 No

Has any other federal regulatory agency, state regulatory agency, or foreign financial regulatory authority ever:

  • D1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission, or was dishonest, unfair, or unethical?No
  • D2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related regulations or statutes?Yes
  • D3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • D4In the past ten years, entered an order against you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • D5Denied, suspended, or revoked your or an advisory affiliate’s registration or license, or otherwise prevented association with an investment-related business or restricted activities?No
ESelf-regulatory organization actions4 No

Has a self-regulatory organization or commodities exchange ever:

  • E1Found you or an advisory affiliate made a false statement or omission?No
  • E2Found you or an advisory affiliate violated its rules, other than a violation designated as a minor rule violation under an SEC-approved plan?No
  • E3Found you or an advisory affiliate caused an investment-related business to have its authorization to do business denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted?No
  • E4Disciplined you or an advisory affiliate by expulsion, suspension, barring association with other members, or otherwise restricting activities?No
FProfessional authorizations1 No
  • FHas an authorization to act as an attorney, accountant, or federal contractor granted to you or an advisory affiliate ever been revoked or suspended?No
GPending regulatory proceedings1 No
  • GAre you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a regulatory proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of C, D, or E?No
HCivil judicial actions and proceedings4 No

(1) Court actions

Has a domestic or foreign court:

  • H(1)(a)In the past ten years, enjoined you or an advisory affiliate in connection with investment-related activity?No
  • H(1)(b)Found that you or an advisory affiliate violated investment-related statutes or regulations?No
  • H(1)(c)Dismissed, pursuant to a settlement agreement, an investment-related civil action brought against you or an advisory affiliate by a state or foreign financial regulatory authority?No

(2) Pending civil proceedings

  • H(2)Are you or any advisory affiliate now the subject of a civil proceeding that could result in a “Yes” answer to any part of H(1)?No
Additional DRP filings 1 source block

Verbatim excerpts from supporting DRP filings, which may concern the firm or advisory affiliates. Amounts retain their filed labels; no total or attribution is inferred.

regulatory · block 1PDF pages 26–28
Regulator name — filed text
BAFIN (BUNDESANSTALT FÜR FINANZDIENSTLEISTUNGSAUFSICHT)
How was matter resolved — filed text
Other

Action status / disposition — filed text

BAFIN HAS NOTIFIED BLACK CREEK THAT IT DOES NOT INTEND TO TAKE ANY FURTHER ACTION AT THIS TIME.
Other filed details

Description of allegations — filed text

ON THURSDAY, MARCH 21, 2019, BAFIN, THE GERMAN FEDERAL FINANCIAL SUPERVISORY AUTHORITY, NOTIFIED BLACK CREEK THAT IT FAILED TO NOTIFY BAFIN AND AN ISSUER IN A TIMELY FASHION WHEN A PRESCRIBED DISCLOSURE THRESHOLD HAD BEEN CROSSED AS REQUIRED UNDER SECTION 33 ET SEQ OF THE GERMAN SECURITIES TRADING ACT. BAFIN HAS NOTIFIED BLACK CREEK THAT IT DOES NOT INTEND TO TAKE ANY FURTHER ACTION AT THIS TIME.

Sanction detail — filed text

N/A
Full extracted filing text

Includes form instructions and options. Options shown in this text do not identify which boxes were selected.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
This Disclosure Reporting Page (DRP ADV) is an 
INITIAL OR
AMENDED response used to report details for affirmative responses to Items 11.C., 11.D.,
11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. of Form ADV.
Regulatory Action
Check item(s) being responded to:

11.C(1)
11.C(2)
11.C(3)
11.C(4)
11.C(5)
11.D(1)
11.D(2)
11.D(3)
11.D(4)
11.D(5)
11.E(1)
11.E(2)
11.E(3)
11.E(4)
11.F.
11.G.
Use a separate DRP for each event or proceeding . The same event or proceeding may be reported for more than one person or entity using one DRP. File
with a completed Execution Page. 
One event may result in more than one affirmative answer to Items 11.C., 11.D., 11.E., 11.F. or 11.G. Use only one DRP to report details related to the
same event. If an event gives rise to actions by more than one regulator, provide details for each action on a separate DRP.
PART I
A.  The person(s) or entity(ies) for whom this DRP is being filed is (are):
You (the advisory firm)
You and one or more of your advisory affiliates
One or more of your advisory affiliates
If this DRP is being filed for an advisory affiliate, give the full name of the advisory affiliate below (for individuals, Last name, First name, Middle name). 
If the advisory affiliate has a CRD number, provide that number. If not, indicate "non-registered" by checking the appropriate box.
ADV DRP - ADVISORY AFFILIATE
No Information Filed
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because the advisory affiliate(s) is no longer associated with the adviser.
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because: (1) the event or proceeding occurred more than ten years ago or (2) the adviser is
registered or applying for registration with the SEC or reporting as an exempt reporting adviser with the SEC and the event was resolved in the
adviser's or advisory affiliate's favor.
If you are registered or registering with a state securities authority , you may remove a DRP for an event you reported only in response to Item
11.D(4), and only if that event occurred more than ten years ago. If you are registered or registering with the SEC, you may remove a DRP for any
event listed in Item 11 that occurred more than ten years ago.
This DRP should be removed from the ADV record because it was filed in error, such as due to a clerical or data-entry mistake. Explain the
circumstances: 
B.
If the advisory affiliate is registered through the IARD system or CRD system, has the advisory affiliate submitted a DRP (with Form ADV, BD or U-4) to
the IARD or CRD for the event? If the answer is "Yes," no other information on this DRP must be provided.
 Yes
 No
NOTE: The completion of this form does not relieve the advisory affiliate of its obligation to update its IARD or CRD records.
PART II
1.  Regulatory Action initiated by:
SEC   
Other Federal   
State   
SRO
Foreign
(Full name of regulator, foreign financial regulatory authority, federal, state, or SRO) 
BAFIN (BUNDESANSTALT FÜR FINANZDIENSTLEISTUNGSAUFSICHT)
2.
Principal Sanction:
Other
Other Sanctions: 
NOTIFICATION-NO FURTHER ACTION
3.
Date Initiated (MM/DD/YYYY): 
03/21/2019
 Exact
 Explanation
If not exact, provide explanation:
4.
Docket/Case Number:
WA L3-WP 5320-40001085-2019/0008
5.
Advisory Affiliate Employing Firm when activity occurred which led to the regulatory action (if applicable):
6.
Principal Product Type:
Equity Listed (Common & Preferred Stock)
Other Product Types: 

7.
Describe the allegations related to this regulatory action (your response must fit within the space provided):
ON THURSDAY, MARCH 21, 2019, BAFIN, THE GERMAN FEDERAL FINANCIAL SUPERVISORY AUTHORITY, NOTIFIED BLACK CREEK THAT IT FAILED TO
NOTIFY BAFIN AND AN ISSUER IN A TIMELY FASHION WHEN A PRESCRIBED DISCLOSURE THRESHOLD HAD BEEN CROSSED AS REQUIRED UNDER
SECTION 33 ET SEQ OF THE GERMAN SECURITIES TRADING ACT. BAFIN HAS NOTIFIED BLACK CREEK THAT IT DOES NOT INTEND TO TAKE ANY FURTHER
ACTION AT THIS TIME.
8.
Current Status?      
 Pending
 On Appeal
 Final
9.
If on appeal, regulatory action appealed to (SEC, SRO, Federal or State Court) and Date Appeal Filed:
If Final or On Appeal, complete all items below. For Pending Actions, complete Item 13 only.
10. How was matter resolved:
Other
11. Resolution Date (MM/DD/YYYY):
03/21/2019
 Exact
 Explanation
If not exact, provide explanation:
12. Resolution Detail:
A.  Were any of the following Sanctions Ordered (check all appropriate items)?
 Monetary/Fine Amount: $
 Revocation/Expulsion/Denial
 Disgorgement/Restitution
 Censure
 Cease and Desist/Injunction
 Bar
 Suspension
B.
Other Sanctions Ordered:
N/A
Sanction detail: if suspended, enjoined or barred, provide duration including start date and capacities affected (General Securities Principal,
Financial Operations Principal, etc.). If requalification by exam/retraining was a condition of the sanction, provide length of time given to
requalify/retrain, type of exam required and whether condition has been satisfied. If disposition resulted in a fine, penalty, restitution,
disgorgement or monetary compensation, provide total amount, portion levied against you or an advisory affiliate, date paid and if any portion
of penalty was waived: 
N/A
13. Provide a brief summary of details related to the action status and (or) disposition and include relevant terms, conditions and dates (your response
must fit within the space provided).
BAFIN HAS NOTIFIED BLACK CREEK THAT IT DOES NOT INTEND TO TAKE ANY FURTHER ACTION AT THIS TIME.

* Metrics are based on the latest available data, including Form ADV filings, brochures, and relationship summaries pulled from the SEC IAPD, and may be subject to change. Learn what is included in the Rialytix data. Please refer to the firm's official disclosures for the most accurate information using their CRD number. This is not investment advice.